Funk & Soul Records:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 4-6 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 1-11 February using standard courier delivery


Love makes the world go around. “two”, the second album by The Soul Session, is full of love. Ralph Kiefer, multi-instrumentalist, composer, arranger and producer from South Germany embarks on a stylistically diverse journey into Soul, Jazz, Funk and World Music.

Being a highly respected session musician in the jazz as well as the crossover scene, Kiefer made a serious impact in 2011 with “one”, the first Soul Session album. “one” was built on a solid backbeat of Soul, Hip Hop and Funk, while “two” now takes a step further into a spiritual and eclectic dimension. “Quantraversa” featuring the voice of Las Vegas based neo-soul queen Georgia Anne Muldrow is the mind- blowing opener of this album, a truly deep and intense rhythmic statement. Quantraversa is a word which you will not find in any dictionary, but that is not the point, says Ralph Kiefer.

“This album is a journey to the inner self. The recording process was like meditation. I often started with a loop, or an idea for a melody. It evolved from there and I simply let it happen. When I involved the lyricists and vocalists, my drafts sometimes took a completely different paths and ended in something unexpected and beautifully new.”

“The Passage” is a prime example of Ralph Kiefer’s visionary working style.

“I mainly work with my mobile studio. Nowadays you can virtually record every instrument in any place you like, you just need a good microphone. Some of my guest vocalists also recorded their part in their own studio.”

This way Tokunbo Akinro, the voice of Tok Tok Tok, turned “The Passage” into a futuristic, haunting soul tune. “Live Your Life”, introducing Anaj, works nicely as a kind of theme tune for “two”. Here you have a lose groove which is tight at the same time, keeps in control and simultaneously lets it loose. And then there’s “Wish The Beat To Never Stop”. Ralph Kiefer is especially happy about this track. “I am a fan of Omar since his first album on Talkin’ Loud, I am very proud that he contributed to my album.”

With his unique UK Soul stylings Omar fits perfectly to the brilliantly understated and well-informed Soul Session sound. It’s the two suites which are central to “two”. “Kalimba Suite” kicks off with a stripped down piano, percussion and Kalimba session. Then “Steely Dan” gives it away in its title, sounds like it will move straight into “Do It Again”, but then it does
not and turns into a funky Soul Session style instrumental jam. “Transformation” is the perfect ending for “Kalimba Suite”, sticking with the Rhodes, bringing in more synthesizers and getting quite cosmic. “Liberation Suite” has Anaj coming in again. “Got To Go Where To Go” is pure bliss and funky fun. “Samba De Alfana” is a spiritual and deep Brazilian, irresistible jazz-house dance floor mover. With a motto like “Liberation for the nation” and a vocoder meeting a Caribbean style “Funky Nassau” groove you will agree: “Open up your mind!”

“You Are Everything” uses a Horace Silver style piano motif, then adding the sampled voice of philosopher Jiddu Krishnamurti: “His philosophy is very central to my creative process. In the troubled times we live in I think his message is more relevant than ever. Without self-knowledge there is no basis for peaceful thought and action." Fatma Tazegül closes the album in taking “Never Let Me Go” to another level with her soulful gospel voice. Think of the open mindedness and global funk and fusion rhythm in the Seventies, but also of the Acid Jazz movement during the Nineties and you get the picture of what “two” is about love, peace, being true to yourself and getting involved.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Quantraversa feat. Georgia Anne Muldrow
  2. Sun Shines Softly feat. Anaj
  3. The Passage feat. Tokunbo
  4. Live Your Life feat. Anaj
  5. Wish The Beat To Never Stop feat. Omar
  6. Kalimba
  7. Steely Dan
  8. Transformation
  9. Got To Go Where To Go feat. Anaj
  10. Samba De Alfama feat. Anaj
  11. Liberation feat. Anaj
  12. You Are Everything feat. Krishnamurti
  13. Never Let Me Go feat. Fatma Tazegül
Release date NZ
September 29th, 2017
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 270 Banana Points