Easy Listening & Folk Albums:

The Voice of Aotearoa

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 6-8 days

Note: This product can only be shipped to New Zealand or Australia.


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 21-24 July using standard courier delivery


The intention was to call this album ‘Paul Walden: The Forgotten Voice of Aotearoa’. Things changed dramatically when Paul agreed to appear on Jim Sutton’s nostalgia radio show on Newstalk ZB in December last year. Within a few minutes the ZB switchboard was jammed in incoming calls from fans and fellow musicians wanted to talk to him. The switchboard remained full for the duration of the four hour show. As it transpired, Paul had not been forgotten, a clutch of iconic recordings, many fans and years of touring with Eddie Low, the Quin Tikis, John Hore and Howard Morrison is testament to that.

Paul Walden was signed by HMV in 1958, and with his deep, rich, resonant voice and smooth good looks, boyish charm and crowd-pleasing personality soon found himself with a string of radio hits and busy performing schedule. In 1959 he headed to London where he sang with the BBC Light Orchestra, was resident entertainer at the Down Under Club, and acted in several films. In the early Sixties he was home again, and starring in TVNZ’s first entertainment series After Dark. He also did radio shows on the YA network and continued releasing singles and albums, and did several legendary tours organised by Joe Brown (crowd-pleasing concerts that also starred Howard Morrison, Peter Posa, John Hore and the Quin Tikis).

This collection features 25 of Paul Walden’s most well-known tracks.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. The King of Holiday Island
  2. Blue Blue Day
  3. Look What You’ve Done
  4. Heartaches By the Number
  5. Sunflower
  6. Guess things Happen That Way
  7. Molly
  8. Moscow Nights
  9. Suki-Yaki
  10. No Moa
  11. When the All Blacks Come Marching In
  12. The Big Fish
  13. Hinemoa & Tutanekai
  14. The Lonely Mountain
  15. Back in Baby’s Arms (with John Hore)
  16. Sea of Heartbreak (with John Hore)
  17. Kewpie Doll
  18. Love Me Sweet
  19. I Make Believe It’s You
  20. Santa is Crying Tonight
  21. A Penny Christmas Card
  22. By the Banks of the River
  23. Emmanuelle
  24. Fields of Gold
  25. Emily
Release date NZ
June 21st, 2013
Ode Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...