Techno & Dance Records:

The Self



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Soul Has No Tempo are proud to present ‘The Self’ – the new album from London-based drummer/producer Richard Spaven.

Richard Spaven is one of the most sought-after drummers in progressive and contemporary music. Drumming for the likes of José James, Gregory Porter, Guru's Jazzmatazz, Flying Lotus, The Cinematic Orchestra, TY and more, he has gained international recognition,
both on stage and in the studio. Richard is an influential, genre-defying musician – the result of working closely with a diverse range of artists, combined with his own rich musical taste. Gilles Peterson said it best – “there's much more than just rhythm with this man”.
His debut album ‘Whole Other*’ (2014) touched on many musical palettes and bridged the gap between jazz and electronica. With ‘The Self’, Richard introduces us to his personal journey. The moment in time where a jazz drummer affirms his love for club culture, delivering an album that travels from drum & bass to broken beat, dubstep and more, all seen through the lens of a drummer. The club culture influence is apparent in the way Richard wrote and produced this album – sampling his own drums on the Photek cover ‘Hidden Camera’ and collaborating with Metalheadz MC, Cleveland Watkiss to recreate the London sound system vibe so integral to his background.

Featuring guest artists from diverse backgrounds – Jordan Rakei, Jameszoo, Kris Bowers, MC Cleveland Watkiss and Richard's esta­blished partner in crime, guitarist and composer Stuart McCallum, ‘The Self’ is masterfully combined with Richard's unique production and showcases his trademark drumming style of precision, creativity and finesse.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. The Self feat Jordan Rakei
  2. Law
Side B:
  1. Stills feat Jordan Rakei
  2. Alfama with Jameszoo
  3. Greeting To Saud (Brother McCoy Tyner) feat Kris Bowers
Side C:
  1. The Hidden Camera
  2. Letters Of The Past
Side D:
  1. Undertow feat Jordan Rakei
  2. Corleone
Release date NZ
September 15th, 2017
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 270 Banana Points