Entertainment Books:

The Oxford History of English Music: Volume 1: From the Beginnings to c.1715

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Oxford History of English Music: Volume 1: From the Beginnings to c.1715 by John Caldwell
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 2-3 weeks


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 10-13 December using standard courier delivery


The Oxford History of English Music will survey in two volumes the whole field of music by English composers. This first volume begins with the settlement of the North German peoples and the cultivation of church music following the mission of St Augustine in 597. Relations between France and England form the background to the account of medieval music after the Norman Conquest, and the growth of a distinct national style is then traced from the early fifteenth century, through the early Tudor period and that of the Reformation, to the outstanding achievements of Elizabethan and Stuart England. The arrival of Handel is related to the period of experimentation following Purcell's death in 1695 and the volume concludes with his decision to remain and the end of the Stuart monarchy. The contribution of such outstanding figures as Dunstable, Taverner, Byrd, and Purcell is placed in the context of the music of their contemporaries, while the social, religious, and historical background to their music is given full attention. There are over two hundred musical examples and sixteen pages of plates.

Author Biography

John Caldwell is the author of Editing Early Music (OUP, 1985), co-editor of The Well Enchanting Skill: Music, Poetry, and Drama in the Culture of the Renaissance(OUP, 1990), series editor for OUP's Musica de Camera series, editor of John Stanley: Complete Works for Flute and Basso Continuo: Six Concertos (OUP 1974-78 and 1987), and editor of William Boyce: Ten Voluntaries for the Organ or Harpsichord (OUP, 1972)
Release date NZ
November 28th, 1991
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
frontispiece, 16 pp plates, numerous music examples, 3 tables
Clarendon Press
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 4,637 Banana Points