New Zealand Music:

The Mongrel in Me



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 1-2 weeks


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 2-7 March using standard courier delivery


The reviewers continue to praise Mahinarangi as ... "a breathtaking singer" .
"an extraordinary voice"... "A wonderful vocalist with an intricate, jazzy sense of phrasing" ... Mahinarangi Tocker can deliver the goose-flesh tingling sensation of witnessing greatness" ......

the mongel in me is a 29-song collection about love, loss, desire and heritage that comes from Mahinarangi's emotional and musical expressions with respect to her Maori, Hebrew and Celtic ancestry.

For this recording Mahinarangi has assembled all of the musicians she has been performing with recently at festivals such as WOMAD and NZ International Arts Festival ... Shona Laing (vocals/piano), James Wilkinson (vocals/guitars), David Downes (piano, drums, vocals) Anahera Higgins (vocals/bodhran), Ashley Brown (cello) and Denny Stanway (vocals/ bodhran) and Jimmy Young (northumbrian pipes, bodhran, tin whistle, vocals) of 'Rua" fame. Also appearing on four of the tracks is prominent composer and trumpet player extraordinaire, Ross Harris.

There are many, many highlights on this album ... to name a few - the first single Like I Used To, the radio-friendly I Was Deaf Then, the unmistakeable vocals of Shona Laing on the bi-lingual My Love Be Still, the Maori language Taku Kotiro, the tri-lingual The Wild Winged Messenger, the tribute to Sir Edmund Hillary (complete with throat singing harmonics!) The Beekeeper's Son From Tuakau and the poignant Arnold Brooker.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Ko Te Ao Marama
  2. Love Is A Grand Thing
  3. Taku Kotiro
  4. My Love Be Still
  5. Winter
  6. Spinning
  7. Like I Used To
  8. Start Again
  9. Talking
  10. Good Memories
  11. Here Where We Remain
  12. From Good To Wrong
  13. The Wild Winged Messenger
  14. The Bee Keeper's Son From Tuakau
  15. Thanks To You
Disc 2:
  1. Tenei Ahau E Haere Ana I Te Whenua
  2. I Am Walking On This Land
  3. Te Oranga
  4. Arnold Brooker
  5. These Blue Eyes
  6. Dream Of Same
  7. Paint The Sky
  8. Sweet Heart
  9. Ending
  10. I Was Deaf Then
  11. He Poroporoaki Encores 1 & 2
  12. As I Went Walking By The Water
  13. Forever
  14. Extra Track For Robbie
Release date NZ
October 17th, 2005
Jayrem Records New Zealand
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 84 Banana Points