Classical & Opera Albums:

The Kugels Play Klezmer by Ross Harris



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

25% off
$21.00 was $28.00
until or while stock lasts
Hurry! Only 1 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships tomorrow!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tomorrow 6-9pm using Evening Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tuesday using standard courier delivery


The wild and haunting tunes of traditional klezmer – The Kugels perform original klezmer-inspired works by New Zealand composer Ross Harris.

“As someone who usually writes music for the concert hall, what is the appeal of klezmer? Because I have always been interested in the work of artists like Gustav Mahler, Woody Allen, Hannah Arendt, Paul Celan, The Cohen Brothers, and Tony Judt (and having a small accordion tucked away unused) the invitation to join a klezmer band seemed intriguing. It changed my life. The original tunes that evolved in the Shtetls of Eastern Europe and found their way out into the world through Jewish emigrants were very direct and emotionally powerful folk music. I found the characteristic modes interesting but mostly enjoyed the unusual juxtaposition of chords and melody. I couldn't help dabbling and soon enough The Kugels had about thirty of my melodies in their repertoire to go with traditional tunes. This CD is a collection of my pieces.” – Ross Harris 2016

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Viglid 1 (Lullaby 1)
  2. Ringlen zihk (Circle)
  3. Faln (to fall or tumble)
  4. Gezegenung (Farewell)
  5. One Small Diary (Diary of Anne Frank)
  6. Trit by Trit (step by step)
  7. Kale Bazetsn (Seating of the Bride) trad. - Narish (Silly)
  8. Vuhin Gaitzu- (Where are you going-)
  9. Melancholia
  10. Khoyshekh (Darkness) - The Hidden One – Contrasts
  11. Drift / Kugelish - Wherever you are-
  12. Zikorn (Memory) - Shpasik (Funny)
  13. Klez 2
  14. Moler (Painter)
  15. Bubkes (something extremely trivial, practically nothing)
  16. Volgenish (Wandering)
  17. Batamt (tasty, delicious)
  18. Klez Round - Klezmer 1 - Gliklekh (Happy Enough) - Children's Song
  19. A Vayser Shayn (A White Glow)
  20. Zukenish (Searching)
  21. Greber (Minor)
  22. Viglid 2 (Lullaby 2)
Release date NZ
October 7th, 2016
Atoll Records New Zealand
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...