NZ Pop Rock Albums:

The Great New Zealand Songbook Vol 2 (2CD)

Click to share your rating 29 ratings (4.7/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



The Great New Zealand Songbook Vol 2 (2CD) by Various
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars Based on 29 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Sweet as Kiwiana II"
5 stars"

What a great way to end the collection with 38 more great kiwi songs past and present. Its a great gift to give to Ex-pat kiwis living overseas to remind them of the good times of New Zealand.

Choice as Sony Music for bringing out Volume 2 of this compilation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

A few unknown songs but a great collection.

"Love it"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Totally love it!


With the release of Volume 2, we now complete ‘The Great New Zealand Songbook’.

The 68 artists that perform the 80 songs featured on both volumes represent the past, present and future of New Zealand music. What treasure they have given us!

Volume 1 was released in May last year for New Zealand Music Month and in just eight months achieved 8 x platinum status (weren’t those days meant to be over for the music business-).

As we were completing the track listing for Volume 2, it occurred to us that either album could have been called Volume 1 or Volume 2, such was the depth and richness of material we had to draw on.

Volume 2 follows the same format as Volume 1 with CD 1 ‘Last Century’ and CD 2 ‘This Century’. The ‘Last Century’ disc again sees Crowded House and Dave Dobbyn but this time along with ‘Poi E’ from the Patea Maori Club (made famous again with the release of the movie ‘Boy’), Th’ Dudes with ‘Be Mine Tonight’, Ray Columbus ‘She’s a Mod’, Max Merritt ‘Slippin’ Away’ and Mi-Sex ‘Computer Games’. It’s another incredibly strong line up from ‘Last Century’.

‘This Century’ sees the inclusion of Gin Wigmore, both on her solo track ‘Oh My’ and with the boys from Smashproof on ‘Brother’; both massive number one singles since the release of Volume 1. We have also included ‘You Got Me’ by J Williams featuring Scribe, one of the biggest selling tracks of this year, along with the 2009 Silver Scroll winner; ‘Apple Pie Bed’ by Lawrence Arabia. Also included is ‘Walkie Talkie Man’ by Steriogram, the New Zealand song personally chosen by Steve Jobs to launch the iPod!

We again commissioned New Zealand artist Dick Frizzell to provide us with an original piece of artwork for the front cover featuring the iconic image of ‘Charlie the Four Square Man’ - but this time from behind!

It is an honour to present the second (and final) edition of ‘The Great New Zealand Songbook’.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Poi E Patea Maori Club
  2. Be Mine Tonight Th'Dudes
  3. Victoria Dance Exponents
  4. Can't Get Enough Supergroove
  5. I Got You Split Enz
  6. Room That Echoes Peking Man
  7. Isabelle Greg Johnson
  8. Violent Stellar*
  9. Beside You Dave Dobbyn
  10. Computer Games Mi-Sex
  11. Maxine Sharon O'Neill
  12. Private Universe Crowded House
  13. Forever Tuesday Morning The Mockers
  14. Sway Bic Runga
  15. She's A Mod Ray Columbus & The Invaders
  16. Chains (Feat. Che Fu) DLT
  17. Pacifier Shihad
  18. Language Annie Crummer
  19. Slippin' Away Max Merritt & The Meteors
Disc 2:
  1. Oh My Gin Wigmore
  2. You Got Me (Feat. Scribe) J. Williams
  3. It's On Nesian Mystik
  4. Albertine Brooke Fraser
  5. Brother (Feat. Gin Wigmore) Smashproof
  6. Lavinia The Veils
  7. Misty Frequencies Che Fu
  8. The Otherside Breaks Co-Op
  9. All On Our Own Midnight Youth
  10. Long White Cross Pluto
  11. Cruel Dane Rumble
  12. Walkie Talkie Man Steriogram
  13. My House Kids of 88
  14. Phlex Blindspott
  15. Crazy- Yes! Dumb- No! The Mint Chicks
  16. Apple Pie Bed Lawrence Arabia
  17. Lydia Fur Patrol
  18. Giddy Up Katchafire
  19. One Day Opshop
Release date NZ
August 23rd, 2010
Sony Music
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
All-time sales rank
Top 2000
Product ID


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...