Pop Albums:

The Golden Echo (Deluxe Edition)

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Golden Echo (Deluxe Edition)

Click to share your rating 6 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 6 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Interesting and refreshing second Album"
4 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Enjoyed this very different album


The Golden Echo is Kimbra’s second album. Her 2011 debut, VOWS, bowed at No. 14 on the Billboard Top 200 and was certified platinum in Australia and New Zealand. Kimbra exploded into the public consciousness that same year with ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’, a duet with Gotye that earned her Grammy Awards for “Record of the Year” and “Best Pop Duo/Group Performance.” The song topped Billboard's Hot 100 chart in 2012 and was the best-selling song of that year in the U.S. It has sold more than 13 million copies.

The ultimate modern pop record, The Golden Echo is ambitious, sophisticated, and complex, just like its creator. The New Zealand-born singer and songwriter wrote the songs in her bedroom studio on a farm in the Silver Lake neighborhood of Los Angeles, where she was surrounded by sheep and lambs owned by her landlady.

The result of her labours is The Golden Echo, which was produced by Rich Costey (Foster The People, Interpol, Muse), who has been on her dream list of collaborators since she was 15. The lyrics find her grappling with a range of subject matter, from feeling nostalgic about young love on ‘90s Music’, to being caught up in a place of narrowness on ‘Mad House’, to wanting to run away and make a new life on ‘Carolina’, to the vulnerability that follows succumbing to temptation on ‘Be Everlovin’ Ya’. Kimbra wrote several of the songs with Daniel Johns from Silverchair, another idol of hers.

Sonically, the album is a riot of genres: ’70s disco (‘Miracle’), Prince-like funk (‘Madhouse’), playful, sing-songy electro-pop (‘90s Music’), eerie space-age hip-hop (‘Goldmine’), plus an emotionally resonant piano ballad, ‘As You Are’, with a string arrangement by Van Dyke Parks. Her lo-fi bedroom aesthetic is filled out by the playing of the musicians, who include drummer John JR Robinson, (Michael Jackson’s main studio drummer, who played on five of the tracks), as well as several special guests: Muse’s Matt Bellamy (‘90s Music’), bassist Thundercat, rapper Flying Lotus, Dirty Projector’s Dave Longstreth, Mars Volta’s Omar Rodriguez-Lopez (‘Carolina’), R&B singer Bilal (‘Be Everlovin’ Ya’), and mega-star John Legend (‘Nobody But You’).

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Teen Heat
  2. 90s Music
  3. Carolina
  4. Goldmine
  5. Miracle
  6. Rescue Him
  7. Madhouse
  8. Everlovin’ Ya
  9. As You Are
  10. Love In High Places
  11. Nobody But You
  12. Waltz Me To Grave
  13. Slum Love (Bonus Track)
  14. Sugar Lies (Bonus Track)
  15. The Magic Hour (Bonus Track)
Release date NZ
August 15th, 2014
Warner Music
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...