Pop Albums:

The Essential Neil Diamond

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Essential Neil Diamond

Click to share your rating 3 ratings (4.7/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars Based on 3 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Great service"
4 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Great fast efficient service – thank you.


Personnel includes: Neil Diamond (vocals, guitar); Barbara Streisand (vocals).

Producers include: Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwhich, Tommy Cogbill, Tom Catalano,

Neil Diamond.

Compilation producers: Neil Diamond, Al Quaglieri.

Engineers include: Phil Ramone, Brooks Arthur, Armin Steiner.

Recorded between February 1966 and October 2001. Includes liner notes by David Wild.

Digitally remastered by Joseph M. Palmaccio (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).

2001 gave Neil Diamond fans plenty to cheer about. A new album of all-original studio material (THREE CHORD OPERA), a speaking and singing cameo in the bawdy film SAVING SILVERMAN, and the hit-packed anthology THE ESSENTIAL NEIL DIAMOND. This two-disc set chronologically traces the Brooklyn native's career path over the span of four decades. Packed with mono versions of classic '60s hits, Disc One alone would be a considerable canon for the average musician, thanks to songs like "Solitary Man," "Cracklin' Rosie," "Song Sung Blue," "Kentucky Woman," "Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon," "Sweet Caroline," and "I'm A Believer." For Diamond, this was just a start, as he leapt to MOR god-like status via his duet with fellow Erasmus High alumnus Barbra Streisand ("You Don't Bring Me Flowers") and other sentimental sides including "Heartlight," "Love On The Rocks," "September Morn," and the patriotic anthem "America".

A number of in-concert cuts quickly dispel any doubts that Diamond's skills are equally as impressive on stage as they are in the studio. One listen to live favorites like "He Aint' Heavy He's My Brother," "Shilo," and "Brooklyn Roads" cinches Diamond's legacy as an American musical treasure.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Solitary Man - (mono)
  2. Cherry, Cherry - (mono)
  3. I Got The Feelin' (Oh No, No) - (mono)
  4. Kentucky Woman - (mono)
  5. Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon - (mono)
  6. You Got To Me - (mono)
  7. Red, Red Wine - (mono)
  8. Thank The Lord For The Night Time - (mono)
  9. I'm A Believer - (mono)
  10. Sweet Caroline
  11. Song Sung Blue
  12. Holly Holy
  13. I Am...I Said
  14. Cracklin' Rosie
  15. Play Me - (live)
  16. Morningside - (live)
  17. Crunchy Granola Suite - (live)
  18. Brooklyn Roads - (live)
  19. Soolaimon - (live)
Disc 2:
  1. America
  2. Hello Again
  3. Love On The Rocks
  4. Captain Sunshine - (live)
  5. He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother - (live)
  6. Yes I Will / Lady Magdelene - (live)
  7. Shilo - (live)
  8. Brother Love's Traveling Salvation Show - (live)
  9. If You Know What I Mean
  10. Beautiful Noise
  11. You Don't Bring Me Flowers - (with Barbra Streisand)
  12. Desiree
  13. Forever In Blue Jeans
  14. September Morn
  15. I've Been This Way Before
  16. Yesterday's Songs
  17. Heartlight
  18. Headed For The Future
  19. You Are The Best Part Of Me
Release date NZ
April 11th, 2008
Legacy Recordings
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...