Crime & Mystery Books:

The Defector

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Hardback
$65.00
Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from a Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown.

Usually ships in 3-4 weeks
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now

Free 14 day free trial, cancel anytime.

Buy Now, Pay Later with:

4 payments of $16.25 with Afterpay Learn more

6 weekly interest-free payments of $10.83 with Laybuy Learn more

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 16-26 April using International Courier

Description

From a New York Times bestselling author, astronaut, and fighter pilot comes a "full-throttle, adrenaline-laced espionage page-turner" (Jack Carr, New York Times bestselling author) and Cold War thriller perfect for fans of Top Gun and The Hunt for Red October. Israel, October 1973. As the Yom Kippur War flares into life, a state-of-the-art Soviet MiG fighter plane plummets to an unexpected landing. NASA Flight Controller and former US test pilot Kaz Zemeckis watches from the ground--unaware that its arrival will pull him into a high-stakes game of spies, lies, and secrets that hold the key to Cold War air and space supremacy. For within that plane is a Soviet pilot pleading to defect, offering a prize beyond value: the workings of the Soviets' mythical "Foxbat" MiG-25, the fastest, highest-flying fighter plane in the world. But trusting him is risky, and Kaz must tread a careful line. As Kaz accompanies the defector into the United States, to the military's most secret test site, he must hope that, with skill and cunning, the game plays out his way. Rich with insider detail and political intrigue drawn from real events, The Defector is a propulsive thriller from a growing master of the genre, filled with the nerve-shredding rush of aerial combat as it could only be told by one of the world's best fighter pilots. "Wondering what to do until Top Gun 3 arrives? Don't worry, Hadfield's got it covered." --Rowland White "Brimming with detail and realism and full of pulse-pounding action." --Mark Greaney "Hadfield's writing is superb. Fans of The Apollo Murders will seek out this one, but newcomers will also thoroughly enjoy it." --Booklist Praise for The Apollo Murders "A Cold War thriller packed with cosmic action." --New York Times "An exciting journey into an alternate past." --Andy Weir, author of The Martian "Propulsive . . . a space race thrill ride." --Newsweek "An intelligent and surprising nail-biter that Tom Clancy fans will relish." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Author Biography:

Colonel Chris Hadfield is one of the most seasoned and accomplished astronauts in the world. A multiple New York Times bestselling author, his books An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth, You Are Here, The Darkest Dark and The Apollo Murders have sold over a million copies worldwide. As well as his time as a Cold War pilot, Chris is a veteran of three spaceflights. He crewed the US Space Shuttle twice, piloted the Russian Soyuz, helped build space station Mir, conducted two space walks, and served as Commander of the International Space Station. He was also NASA's Director of Operations in Russia. Chris is the co-creator and host of the BBC series Astronauts: Do You Have What It Takes? and helped create and host, along with actor Will Smith, the National Geographic series One Strange Rock. His zero-gravity version of David Bowie's 'Space Oddity' has received more than 50 million views, and his TED talk on fear over 10 million. He advises SpaceX, Virgin Galactic and other space companies, chairs the board of the Open Lunar Foundation, leads the CDL-Space international tech incubator, and teacher a MasterClass on space operations.
Release date NZ
October 10th, 2023
Audience
  • General (US: Trade)
Pages
368
Dimensions
157x239x33
ISBN-13
9780316565028
Product ID
36578219

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...