Jazz Albums:

The Complete On the Corner Sessions

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Complete On the Corner Sessions



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet, electric piano); Pete Cosey (guitar, drums); Cornell Dupree, Dominique Gaumont, John McLaughlin, Reggie Lucas, Dave Creamer (guitar); Colin Walcott, Khalil Balakrishna (electric sitar); Bennie Maupin (flute, bass clarinet); Dave Liebman (flute, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Sonny Fortune (flute, soprano saxophone); Wally Chambers (harmonica); Carlos Garnett (sopranino saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Dave Lieberman, John Stubblefield (soprano saxophone); Harold Ivory Williams, Herbie Hancock (electric piano, organ, synthesizer); Cedric Lawson (electric piano, organ); Lonnie Liston Smith (electric piano); Chick Corea (synthesizer); Michael Henderson (electric bass); Billy Hart (drums, cowbells, wood block, percussion); Jack DeJohnette, Al Foster, Bernard Purdie (drums); Mtume (congas, claves, percussion); Don Alias (congas, kalimba, percussion); Badal Roy (tabla).

In a sense, the 1972 release ON THE CORNER was the culmination of what Miles Davis had been working towards since 1969's IN A SILENT WAY, where he began experimenting with a full-on electric ensemble and moving beyond straight-ahead jazz. THE COMPLETE ON THE CORNER SESSIONS, boasting six discs and a wealth of previously unheard music, shines a light on just how groundbreaking these sessions were.

With a huge cast of accompanists including John McLaughlin, Chick Corea, Bernard Purdie, and many more, Davis definitively transcended the jazz template and fully embraced a new form that incorporated jazz, rock, funk, and the avant garde, but was truly its own beast.

Eschewing harmonic/melodic development, these tracks are powered by shifts in dynamics and texture over percolating grooves, and would prove hugely influential to hip-hop, dub, electronica, and more, for decades to come. By including outtakes and full versions of edited tracks, this collection finally lets the layers of Miles and producer Teo Macero's complex tapestry unfold with the proper breathing room, making it clear why what was initially one of Miles' worst-selling albums would eventually be regarded as a high-water mark even he would never surpass.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. On The Corner (unedited master) 19:25
  2. On The Corner (tk 4) 5:15
  3. One And One (unedited master) 17:55
  4. Helen Butte/Mr. Freedom X (unedited master) 23:19
  5. Jabali 11:04
Disc 2:
  1. Ife 21:33
  2. Chieftain 14:37
  3. Rated X 6:50
  4. Turnaround 17:16
  5. U-Turnaround 8:27
Disc 3:
  1. Billy Preston 12:33
  2. The Hen 12:55
  3. Big Fun/Holly-wuud (take 2) 6:32
  4. Big Fun/Holly-wuud (take 3) 7:07
  5. Peace 7:01
  6. Mr. Foster 15:14
Disc 4:
  1. Calypso Frelimo 32:04
  2. He Loved Him Madly 32:13
Disc 5:
  1. Maiysha 14:51
  2. Mtume 15:08
  3. Mtume (take 11) 6:51
  4. Hip-Skip 18:59
  5. What They Do 11:44
  6. Minnie 3:53
Disc 6:
  1. Red China Blues* 4:06
  2. On The Corner/New York Girl/Thinkin� Of One Thing And Doin� Another/Vote For Miles 19:54
  3. Black Satin 5:15
  4. One And One 6:09
  5. Helen Butte/Mr. Freedom X 23:14
  6. Big Fun 2:32/ 7. Holly-wuud 2:54
Release date NZ
December 18th, 2007
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 936 Banana Points