Fiction Books:

Book of God

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Book of God

The Bible as a Novel



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Book of God: The Bible as a Novel by Walter Wangerin
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Walter Wangerin, Jr. loves to tell a good story. In his latest book, "The Book of God: The Bible as a Novel," he tells the greatest story ever told. "The Book of God" is a compelling narrative that tells a collection of "Bible" stories like a modern bestseller. But it is gripping because it is not fiction, but ages old truth. Ably using fiction techniques of characterization, Wangerin gives readers a new look at Peter and John through the eyes of Jesus. Many of the chapters focus on biblical characters from the famous, like some of the disciples, to the obscure, such as Ehud and Ahikam. Throughout the book, Wangerin is sensitive to the roll of women in the "Bible," even devoting separate chapters to Rebekah and Deborah. "The Book of God" will not replace the Bible itself -- it encourages readers to look at the Bible in a fresh and lively new light. Using what might be called literary homiletics, Wangerin organizes his book into eight parts. Beginning with " The Ancestors" and concluding with " The Messiah, " Wangerin tells God's own story with excitement and reverence.

Table of Contents

PART ONE: The Ancestors 1. Abraham 2. Rebekah 3. Jacob 4. Joseph PART TWO: The Covenant 5. Moses 6. Sinai 7. The Children of Israel PART THREE: The Wars of the Lord 8. Joshua 9. Ehud 10. Deborah 11. Gideon 12. Jephthah 13. Samson 14. The Levite's Concubine PART FOUR: Kings 15. Saul 16. David 17. Solomon PART FIVE: Prophets 18. The Man of God from Judah 19. Elijah 20. Amos, Hosea 21. Isaiah 22. Jeremiah PART SIX: Letters from Exile 23. Ahikam Utters a Curse 24. Ahikam Must Make a Decision 25. Ahikam in Jerusalem PART SEVEN: The Yearning 26. My Messenger 27. Nehemiah 28. Ezra 29. The yearning PART EIGHT: The Messiah 30. Zechariah 31. Mary 32. John the Son of Zechariah 33. Andrew 34. Mary Magdalene 35. Simon Peter 36. Son of Father 37. To Jerusalem 38. Jesus 39. The New Covenant Epilogue

Author Biography

Walter Wangerin Jr. is widely recognized as one of the most gifted writers writing today on the issues of faith and spirituality. Among his books are The Book of God; Paul: A Novel; Whole Prayer; Reliving the Passion; Preparing for Jesus; Mary's First Christmas; Peter's First Easter; Ragman and Other Cries of Faith; Miz Lil and the Chronicles of Grace; Little Lamb, Who Made Thee? Mourning Into Dancing; The Book of Sorrows; A Miniature Cathedral; The Orphean Passages; and Crying for a Vision. He lives in Valparaiso, Indiana, where he is writer-in-residence at Valparaiso University and holds the Jochum Chair.
Release date NZ
March 1st, 1996
Country of Publication
United States
New edition
illustrations, maps
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 360 Banana Points