Rock Records:

Some Girls Wander By Mistake (4LP)



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 6-8 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 8-15 February using standard courier delivery


Originally released in 1992, the double compilation LP Some Girls Wander By Mistake retraces The Sisters Of Mercy’s formative years and their rise to cult acclaim. It includes three songs the group originally issued on 45rpm on their own Merciful Release imprint in 1980: “The Damage Done,” “Watch,” and “Home Of The Hit-Men.” Also included in this set is the band’s 1982 follow-up single: “Body Electric” and “Adrenochrome.”

Arranged in non-chronological order, Some Girls Wander By Mistake begins with all four songs from The Sisters of Mercy’s first 12” EP Alice, which was originally released in 1983. The music – produced by Psychedelic Furs’ guitarist John Ashton – includes the EP’s title track, a cover of the Stooges “1969” and more.

The first LP’s flipside collects music that originally appeared on The Sisters Of Mercy’s second EP, The Reptile House (1983). Among tracks are “Kiss The Carpet,” “Burn,” and the haunting “Lights.” Later that year the band released the single “Temple of Love” backed with “Heartland” and a cover the Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter,” all of which are included here.

Some Girls Wander By Mistake also includes music from two 12” singles. The first is a re-recorded version of “Temple of Love” from 1992 that features Israeli vocalist Ofra Haza, and remains the Sisters’ biggest international hit, peaking at #3 on the UK charts. The second is “Under The Gun,” their final release, from 1993, which includes an updated version of “Alice.”

This collection’s title comes from a lyric in the Leonard Cohen song “Teachers,” a track the Sisters cover frequently in concert. In fact, “Teachers” appears on the same album as the song “Sisters of Mercy,” which inspired the band’s name.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Alice
  2. Floorshow
  3. Phantom
  4. 1969
Side B:
  1. Kiss The Carpet
  2. Lights
  3. Valentine
  4. Fix
  5. Burn
  6. Kiss The Carpet – Reprise
Side C:
  1. Temple Of Love – Extended Version 1983
  2. Heartland
  3. Gimme Shelter
Side D:
  1. The Damage Done
  2. Watch
  3. Home Of The Hit-Men
  4. Body Electric
  5. Adrenochrome
  6. Anaconda
Side E:
  1. Temple Of Love – Touched by the Hands of Ofra Haza
Side F:
  1. Vision Thing – Canadian Club Remix
Side G:
  1. Under The Gun – Metropolis Mix
Side H:
  1. Alice – 1993 Version
  2. Under The Gun – Jutland Mix
Release date NZ
September 1st, 2017
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 960 Banana Points