Christmas to your door NZ's largest range of gifts – Overnight delivery in NZ – Order up to 21 December Learn more

Non-Fiction Books:

Sex, Science and Profits

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Sex, Science and Profits

Format

Hardback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sex, Science and Profits by Terence Kealey
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

The question 'What is art?' is frequently debated - often by works of 'art' themselves. The question 'What is science?' appears to be discussed less often, and less publicly - though the answers could be even more revealing about our species...Some people see science as a public good, funded by governments and philanthropists, and performed by altruistic scientists for the benefit of mankind. Such people view science as progress. But others see science as a private good, driven by profit, promoted by businesses and certain institutions looking for economic and political power. Such science may be dangerous. In this original ground-breaking book in the tradition of Richard Dawkins and Jared Diamond, Terence Kealey shows that science is not a thing apart but rather, like trade and contract, embedded in human nature, having evolved on the evolutionary principles of natural and sexual selection. "Sex, Science and Profits" ranges across history to explore the nature of science, economics and philosophy. Starting with the Neolithic discovery of tools, this book explains the role of concubines in Ancient Egypt and the emergence of the Portuguese as Europe's premier seafaring explorers; questions the usefulness of patents, and describes how the race for technological progress plays out between nations, governments and corporations. Richly multi-disciplinary, witty, brilliant and thought-provoking, "Sex, Science and Profits" shows how an understanding of sexual and natural selection can transform our view of progress in economics, business and technology. It is an important and controversial book.

Author Biography

Terence Kealey is a clinical biochemist specialising in the biochemistry of hair. He writes regularly for the Spectator, the Telegraph, the Sunday Telegraph and the New Scientist.
Release date NZ
January 17th, 2008
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
William Heinemann Ltd
Pages
464
Dimensions
162x241x37
ISBN-13
9780434008247
Product ID
1669112

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 390 Banana Points