Compilation & Soundtrack Albums:

Selected Works 1972-1999

Click to share your rating 7 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Or Buy Now, Pay Later with:

Afterpay is available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

5 payments of $6.40 with Humm Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from a Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown.

Usually ships in 8-12 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 25-30 August using standard courier service

Buy together

2% of people buy Selected Works 1972-1999 and The Very Best of Don Henley ~ CD ~ Don Henley.

Buy together: $46.63

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 7 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

This is an excellent collection of music covered by four great cds well worth adding to your cd library .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


With five number one singles, fourteen Top 40 hits, and four number one albums, the Eagles were among the most successful recording artists of the 1970s. At the end of the 20th century, two of those albums – Their Greatest Hits (1971–1975) and Hotel California – ranked among the ten best-selling albums ever.

Selected Works: 1972–1999 is a compilation box set by the Eagles, released in 2000. The box set consists of four CDs featuring their greatest hits, album tracks, previously unreleased live performances and 44-page booklet.

The relative sonic neglect suffered by the Eagles' catalog was the fault of the band's consistent success – with the original albums and hits collections still selling year after year, why bother to upgrade? Finally, however, longtime Eagles producer Bill Szymczyk remastered their albums in 1999, and the band put together a box set. Including most of their hits (the exception is “Seven Bridges Road”) and lots of album tracks, the four-CD set regroups the Eagles' material into three categories: “The Early Days,” which consists of 13 tracks from their first four albums; “The Ballads”; and “The Fast Lane,” i.e., rhythm songs. The fourth disc is drawn from their millennium concert at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. While their early albums balanced the contributions of their members, “The Early Days” is dominated by Glenn Frey and Don Henley; that means a few worthy efforts are missing, but the selection is generally good. “The Ballads” is a straightforward collection of popular slow songs. Along with their more uptempo hits, “The Fast Lane” contains what little unreleased material there is, but anyone hoping for greatness is going to be disappointed. the Eagles have gone out of their way in “The Millennium Concert” to perform songs out of their usual repertoire, including several solo hits and both sides of their 1978 seasonal single, “Please Come Home for Christmas” and “Funky New Year.” Much of this is minor or atypical material, but at least the unusually animated band members were trying (though it sounds like there was plenty of studio overdubbing). The overall result is a nearly four-hour collection that is something of a hodgepodge. There are enough rarities to bait the hook for hardcore Eagles fans, but not really satisfy them, and casual fans will probably be better off with the two single-disc hits collections. William Ruhlmann – AllMusic

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Take it easy
  2. Hollywood waltz
  3. Already gone
  4. Doolin-dalton
  5. Midnight flyer
  6. Tequila sunrise
  7. Witchy woman
  8. Train leaves here this morning
  9. Outlaw man
  10. Peaceful easy feeling
  11. James dean
  12. Saturday night
  13. On the border
  14. On the border
Disc 2:
  1. Wasted time (reprise)
  2. Wasted time
  3. I can't tell you why
  4. Lyin' eyes
  5. Pretty maids all in a row
  6. Desperado
  7. Try and love again
  8. The best of my love
  9. New kid in town
  10. Love will keep us alive
  11. Sad cafe
  12. Take it to the limit
  13. After the thrill is gone
Disc 3:
  1. One of these nights (intro)
  2. One of these nights
  3. Disco strangler
  4. Heartache tonight
  5. Hotel california
  6. Born to boogie
  7. In the city
  8. Get over it
  9. King of hollywood
  10. Too many hands
  11. Life in the fast lane
  12. The long run
  13. Long run leftoves
  14. The last resort
  15. Random victims part 3
  16. The last resort
  17. Random victims part 3
Disc 4:
  1. Hotel california
  2. Victim of love
  3. Peaceful easy feeling
  4. Please come home for christmas
  5. Ol' 55
  6. Take it to the limit
  7. Those shoes
  8. Funky new year
  9. Dirty laundry
  10. Funk
  11. All she wants to do is dance
  12. The best of my love
  13. Best of my love
Release date NZ
November 22nd, 2013
Warner Music
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...