Country Albums:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Personnel: Garth Brooks (vocals); Trisha Yearwood, George Jones (vocals); Mark Casstevens, Wayne Kirkpatrick, Gordon Kennedy (acoustic guitar); Chris Leuzinger (electric guitar); Bruce Bouton (steel & slide guitars); Rob Hajacos, Jimmy Mattingly (fiddle); Bela Fleck (banjo); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Terry McMillan (harmonica); Joey Miskulin (accordion); Bobby Wood (keyboards); Mike Chapman, Jimmie Lee Sloas (bass); Sam Bacco (drums, percussion); Milton Sledge (drums); Sam Bush.

Recorded at Jack's Tracks Recording Studio, Nashville, Tennessee.

"Squeeze Me In" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Awards for Best Country Collaboration With Vocals.

After his head-scratching masquerade as a fictional rocker and a heavily publicized early retirement from show business, most folks thought that the Garth Brooks era in country music was over. Just when you thought it was safe to go back to Nashville, here comes SCARECROW, a confident return to form for Brooks. Having apparently gotten that nasty rock thing out of his system, he returns to the wide-screen, Springsteen-with-spurs brand of pop-country that made him a mega-star in the '90s. The first album of new Garth Brooks tunes of the 21st century pretty much picks up where records like ROPIN' THE WIND and NO FENCES left off. There's even a light-hearted duet with honky-tonk legend George Jones on "Beer Run" for any who were doubtful about Brooks's return to country music. The rest of SCARECROW is made up of power ballads, high-energy roadhouse romps (most notably the Trisha Yearwood duet on "Squeeze Me In," and the singular pop/rock/country paradigm upon which Nashville based the marketing plans of a thousand lesser imitators.

What the critics say...

Q (Jan/02, pp.96-98) - 4 out of 5 stars - "...he tried to branch out, he's back....nobody better....SCARECROW's sense of defeat...makes it better..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Why Ain't I Running
  2. Beer Run (duet with George Jones)
  3. Wrapped Up In You
  4. The Storm
  5. Thicker Than Blood
  6. Big Money
  7. Squeeze Me In (duet with Trisha Yearwood)
  8. Mr.Midnight
  9. Pushing Up Daises
  10. Rodeo Or Mexico
  11. Don't Cross The River
  12. When You Come Back To Me Again
Release date NZ
February 9th, 2009
Capitol Nashville Records
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 90 Banana Points