Rock Records:

Private Investigations - The Best Of Dire Straits



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product


Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

Hurry! Only 3 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships today!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tonight 6-9pm using Same Day Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tonight to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tomorrow using standard courier delivery

Buy together and save

List price: $98.00

Buy together: $97.03 (save 1%)

10.53% of people buy Private Investigations - The Best Of Dire Straits and Legacy - The Very Best of David Bowie (2LP) ~ Vinyl ~ David Bowie.


Private Investigations: The Best of Dire Straits & Mark Knopfler is the third compilation album by Dire Straits and British singer-songwriter and guitarist Mark Knopfler, released in 2005 by Mercury and Vertigo internationally, and Warner Bros. in the United States. Named after their 1982 hit single, the album consists of material by Dire Straits, with songs selected from the group's six studio albums (excluding the 1979 album Communiqué) from 1978 up through the group's dissolution in 1995. It also features work from the solo career of the group's singer, songwriter, and guitarist Mark Knopfler, including some of his soundtrack material.

The only previously unreleased track on the album is “All the Roadrunning”, a duet with country music singer Emmylou Harris. The United States version omits “Darling Pretty”, but adds “Skateaway”.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Sultans Of Swing 5:50
  2. Love Over Gold 6:16
  3. Romeo & Juliet 6:00
Side B:
  1. Tunnel Of Love 8:10
  2. Private Investigations 5:58
  3. Money For Nothing 4:05
Side C:
  1. Brothers In Arms 6:57
  2. Walk Of Life 4:07
  3. On Every Street 5:02
  4. Boom, Like That 5:49
Side D:
  1. Going Home (Theme From The Local Hero) 5:01
  2. Why Aye Man 4:10
  3. What It Is 4:55
  4. All The Roadrunning 4:47
Release date NZ
December 12th, 2005
Manufacturer code:
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...