Non-Fiction Books:

Northern Summer

New and Selected Poems, 1963-1983



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Northern Summer by John Matthias
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 10-14 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 23-28 January using standard courier delivery
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas


"Northern Summer" is a representative selection from John Matthias' previous books, together with a group of poems written since 1980. Robert Duncan wrote of his first book, "Bucyrus", that in part 'Matthias is a Goliard - one of those wandering souls out of a dark age in our own time'. The present selection includes the three epistolary poems from "Turns" - hailed as 'major art' by Arthur Oberg in "Western Humanities Review" - as well as the long "Poem for Cynouai" from "Crossing", which extends and modifies their idiom. The book reprints entire "The Stefan Batory Poems", written on a Polish liner while Matthias travelled to America after a year in England during the last stages of the Watergate controversy, along with three sections of "The Mihail Lermontov Poems", written two years later while returning on a Russian ship to England. The comic vision of these poems has been widely acknowledged since the publication of "Crossing", a book the "TLS" found 'bursting with masterful intelligence' and "Thames Poetry" called 'packed with poetic thought, devilment, and complexities of spirit'. The new work in "Northern Summer" culminates in the title poem, a personal and historical meditation set in Scotland. In it a new landscape and history - that of Fife and "The Matter of Scotland" - join the East Anglian and mid-western American concerns of his earlier work. It is a poem that bears out Neil Corcoran's observation in "PN Review" that Matthias is a poet 'whose exceptionally original work has something of David Jones' magpie eclecticism and much of his sustaining interest in specific re-imagined historical occasions'.

Author Biography

John Matthias was born in Columbus, Ohio in 1941. He has lived in California, Indiana, Suffolk, Cambridge and Scotland. He is Professor of English at the University of Notre Dame, and has been Visiting Fellow in poetry at Clare Hall, Cambridge. He has published four previous volumes of poetry - 'Bucyrus', 'Turns', 'Crossing' and 'Batory & Lermontov' - and has edited '23 Modern British Poets', 'Five American Poets' and 'Introducing David Jones'. With Goran Printz-Pahlson, he has edited and translated 'Contemporary Swedish Poetry', and a collection of poems, 'Rainmaker', by Jan A-stergren.
Release date NZ
May 31st, 1984
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Anvil Press Poetry
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 137 Banana Points