Techno & Dance Albums:

Noise Reduction System: Formative European Electronica 1974-1984



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 21-24 January using standard courier delivery
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas


The sequel to last year’s critically acclaimed, strong selling ‘Close To The Noise Floor’.

Journey into the origins of electronica in Europe – from early techno and electro to synth-pop, industrial, ambient and noise experiments. Includes artists from Germany, France, Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, Portugal, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Romania, Slovenia, Latvia, Yugoslavia and Greece. 62 tracks across 4CDs in a 52pp hard-back book format. Over 9,000 words of artists’ sleevenotes and introductory essay by Dave Henderson (Sounds/Wild Planet/MOJO). From figureheads (Cluster, DAF, Yello, Klaus Schulze, Vangelis, Front 242) to underground outsiders.

Part primitive rave, part synthesiser porn, part history lesson! A year in the making, Noise Reduction System reaches out into the European mainland, taking in tracks from key figures on the electronica cassette label underground alongside early releases by ground-breaking innovators.

Enthralled by the mysterious synthesiser and inspired by the DIY ethos of punk, a quiet revolution took place across Europe in the late 1970s and early 1980s. From Norway to Greece, the microchip and the affordable synthesiser inspired artists for whom guitars, drums and bass had become old hat, and in home studios and art spaces across the continent electronic musicians began to stretch the boundaries of sonic experimentation. Some wanted to dance, some to relax and others to confuse and confront – all are represented here.

Noise Reduction System explores every corner of this chapter in our musical history via over four hours of futurist, modern and sometimes challenging music. And who better to tell this story than the artists themselves – Noise Reduction System features sleevenotes from artists and their biographers, unseen photographs and an introductory essay by Sounds and Wild Planet legend Dave Henderson.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Die Gesunden Kommen - Die Gesunden
  2. Party Talk - André de Koning
  3. She's Got Blue Eyes Wow - Pseudo Code
  4. Ich Will - D.A.F
  5. Claxon - de Fabriek
  6. Caramel - Cluster
  7. Invaldu Tramvajs - NSRD
  8. Marbles in the Garden - Daniele Ciullini
  9. Krematorien - Universalanschluss -
  10. NY NY - Truus de Groot
  11. Speak & Spell - Christina Kubisch
  12. Glue Head - Yello
  13. Tror Nok Jeg - Famlende Forsøk
  14. En Gang - Levde
  15. Secret Affair No 2 - Borghesia
  16. Lux - Schaltkreis Wassermann
  17. C33H35N5O5 (Ergotamine) - M.A.L
  18. Ukaasi - Gagarin-Kombinaatti
  19. Die Internationale - Saal 2
Disc 2:
  1. Ohnne Titel - Emak
  2. TV Treated - the Neon Judgement
  3. Hymne Au Ver - Bene Gesserit
  4. Zu Tot Um Zu Sterben - Der Künftige Musikant
  5. Impersonator - Carlos Perón -
  6. Polaroid/Roman/Photo (Instrumental First Mix) - Ruth
  7. Soviet Invasion - Doxa Sinistra
  8. Last Lift - Not Only Bones
  9. Birds in a Cage - Stratis
  10. Geld - Malaria
  11. Petite Otite - Ericka Irganon
  12. Multitrack Suggestion - Vangelis
  13. Love You Generator - Van Kaye and Ignit
  14. Machine Dancing - Yuri Morozov
Disc 3:
  1. Godot Was Here - Human Flesh
  2. Gradeatia (Extract) - Octavian Nemescu
  3. P.I.E. (Versión) - Esplendor Geométrico
  4. Après la Pluie - Vox Populi!
  5. Zitternde Luft - Giancarlo Toniutti
  6. Sexual Discipline - Die Form
  7. Karavaani - Aavikon Kone Ja Moottori
  8. Il Castello (Dedicato a F. Kafka) - Tasaday
  9. Soliloquio - Amok
  10. Vermifuge - Mario Marzidovek
  11. Flanco-Dama - Diseño Corbusier
  12. Troglodyten - Asmus Tietchens
  13. 1984 - Klaus Schulze
  14. Stoned (Part 1 Extract) - Gunner Møller Pedersen
  15. Industrial Tape Track 3 Extract - Maurizio Bianchi
Disc 4:
  1. Principles - Front 242
  2. Alien - Ende Shneafliet
  3. Deka Dans - Njurmännen
  4. Raid (Demo) - Das Ding
  5. Wat's Dat? - Der Plan
  6. Biomutanten - Les Vampyrettes
  7. Son - Minny Pops
  8. More Fun with Korg - Plus Instruments
  9. Tanzen & Singen - Monoton
  10. Light - Ddaa
  11. Plancton - Walt Rockman -
  12. Shaï Hulud - Bernard Szajner
  13. Tarzan - Anar Band
  14. Romantic - Cosmic Overdose
Release date NZ
August 25th, 2017
Cherry Red
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 420 Banana Points