Non-Fiction Books:

Modern Supramolecular Chemistry

Strategies for Macrocycle Synthesis



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Modern Supramolecular Chemistry
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Written by internationally acclaimed experts, this handy volume covers all major classes of supramolecular compounds. Chapters include cyclophanes, resorcinarene and calixarene synthesis, supramolecular metallomacrocycles and macrocycle synthesis, rotaxane and catenane synthesis, cucurbiturils and porphyrins, as well as macrocyclic drugs. Each chapter contains experimental procedures allowing fast access to this type of synthetic chemistry.

Author Biography

Francois Diederich was born in 1952 in Luxembourg. He received his doctorate in 1979 from the University of Heidelberg and subsequently pursued postdoctoral studies at the University of California at Los Angeles. After gaining his lecturing qualification at the Max-Planck-Institut fur medizinische Forschung, he joined the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCLA in 1985, becoming full professor in 1989. In 1992, he moved to the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich as a member of the Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences. Professor Diederich's research interests, documented in more than 420 publications, span medicinal chemistry, with a focus on molecular recognition studies, to advanced fullerene and acetylene-based materials with novel optoelectronic properties. He received the Otto Hahn Medal of the Max- Planck-Society (1979), the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1987), the ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (1992), the Otto-Bayer-Preis fur Chemie (1993), the Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis (2000) and the Havinga Medal (2000), the Humboldt Research Prize (2005), the Burkhard-Helferich Prize (2005), and the August-Wilhelm-von-Hofmann-Denkmunze (2006). Peter J. Stang is a professor at the University of Utah. Beside many other prices he has received the 2003 American Chemical Society George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon Chemistry, the Robert W. Parry Teaching Award in Chemistry in 2000, and the American Chemical Soc. James Flack Norris Award in Physical-Organic Chemistry in 1998. Professor Stang is the author or co-author of 370 scientific publications, including six monographs and 24 reviews. He has been editor for JACS since 2002 and is member of the National Academy of Sciences and the board of directors of the AAAS. Rik R. Tykwinski received his BSc from the University of Minnesota-Duluth and his PhD from the University of Utah. After postdoctoral studies at the ETH, Zurich, he joined the faculty of the University of Alberta in 1997 where he is now an Associate Professor of Chemistry. Professor Tykwinski has published over 75 research papers.
Release date NZ
February 13th, 2008
Edited by Francois Diederich Edited by Peter Stang Edited by Rik R. Tykwinski
Country of Publication
Blackwell Verlag GmbH
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 1,973 Banana Points