Techno & Dance Albums:

Matthew Dear DJ-Kicks

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Matthew Dear DJ-Kicks



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The long established and critically acclaimed DJ-Kicks series kicks off 2017 with suitably accomplished DJ, producer, vocalist and instrumentalist Matthew Dear at the helm.

A man of many musical hats, Texas born, Detroit raised Dear has a wide reaching discography that takes in face melting techno as Jabberjaw, dark avant-pop under his own name and intricate minimal as Audion.

Often with a gothic slant and full of curiousness, his pensive but playful music is an intoxicating distillation of many different influences, often with his own stylised vocals at the centre.

As co-founder of both Ghostly International and Spectral Sound Dear has also been responsible for some of the underground scene’s most exciting new music, plenty of which appears here. Now more than 15 years, five albums and 20 EPs into his esteemed and always evolving career, Dear is exactly the sort of fascinating character that makes the very personal DJ-Kicks series so special.

Included along the way are three brand new and exclusive cuts from Dear himself, one under his own name and two as Audion. They are typically weird and intriguing cuts that tie the whole unhinged and freaky mix together. Also helping to add to the left-of-centre afterparty vibe are inclusions by artists as diverse as Thatmanmonkz and Matrixxmann, ItaloJohnson and Pearson Sound, Randomer and Simian Mobile Disco.

Wholly timeless yet totally of its time, this is the first new work from Dear in a while. Once again, though, it proves that he is a master of subversion; someone who can head down a brain frying techno warren then effortlessly onto raw machine grooves via left of centre synth ditties and kaleidoscopic house music. In his considered hands, they all make perfect sense.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Nils Frahm - Ode
  2. Matthew Dear - Wrong With Us (DJ-Kicks)
  3. Mahal - Ongaku (HVL Remix)
  4. Monsieur Georget - Double Lune (Third Child Boomer Mix)
  5. Kreon - Silo Sol
  6. Caserta - Ricky (Thatmanmonkz Remix)
  7. Gwilym Gold x Doc Daneeka - Lust For Sale (MGF Mix)
  8. Smoke - Nuutri
  9. Decius - Bread & Butter
  10. Italojohnson - ITJ10B1
  11. Vin Sol - Instinct (Matrixxman Remix)
  12. Groovesh - Glowing
  13. Duff Disco - Feed The Horse
  14. Dudley Strangeways - Hallam
  15. Alex & Digby - Angolan Rumble
  16. Gary Sloan & Clone - Harmonitalk (Alex & Digby Edit)
  17. Randomer - Rendell Pips
  18. Markus Enochson - Hot Juice Box
  19. Simian Mobile Disco - Staring At All This Handle
  20. Pearson Sound - XLB
  21. Soulphiction - Sky So High
  22. Audion - Live Breakdown
  23. Audion - Starfucker
  24. Audion - Brines
  25. DJ Khalab & Baba Sissoko - Kumu
Release date NZ
February 10th, 2017
Manufacturer code:
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 150 Banana Points