Pop R&B & Classic Soul:

Marvin Gaye - The Real Thing: In Performance 1964-1981

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Exempt from classification.

Marvin Gaye - The Real Thing: In Performance 1964-1981 on DVD
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


This is it — the songs and the footage fans have been waiting for. For the first time ever — the definitive DVD collection of one of America’s greatest stars!

Issued with the full cooperation of the Marvin Gaye estate, this is the first official DVD anthology of classic archival television performances by a Motown artist.

Features Marvin Gaye performing his biggest Motown hits, from “Hitch Hike” to “Let’s Get It On” and more, in original classic clips from television and film.

Among The Many Highlights:

• Footage TV clips from Hollywood A Go-Go, The Dinah Shore Show, Hollywood Palace and American Bandstand, rarely seen since first aired

• The stunning, long-lost live concert footage from the documentary film, Save The Children, now on home video for the first time anywhere, featuring Marvin with several Funk Brothers including James Jamerson — now with restored stereo audio from the Motown vault

• Recently unearthed footage from Marvin’s hardly-seen Belgium concert, aired only on local Belgian TV in 1981

• Clips are interspersed with fascinating soundbites and interview clips

• Marvin’s “music video” (lip-sync) performances have been audio remastered from the original Motown stereo tapes (no tinny TV sound)


• Includes a 24-page booklet with an extensive essay by Grammy® Award-winning writer, Rob Bowman, including rare photographs and memorabilia.

• Produced by the acclaimed Grammy®-nominated team from Reelin’ In The Years productions

DVD 1:

01 Hitch Hike
02 When Did You First Get Hooked on Si
03 Pride & Joy
04 Singing in Church As a Child (14th
05 Can I Get a Witness
06 Pretty Little Baby
07 20c Talent 80c Luck (25th Feb '67 -
08 Ain't That Peculiar
09 You'Re a Wonderful One
10 I'Ve Never Been Lucky Enough to Sel
11 Ain't No Mountain High Enough
12 Music is Universal (14th Feb '79 -
13 I Heard It Through the Grapevine
14 A Very Spiritual Thing (13th Apr '7
15 What's Going on
16 What's Happening Brother
17 Come Get to This
18 Let's Get It on
19 Distant Lover
20 The Biggest Thrill (14th Feb '79 -
21 A Funky Space Reincarnation
22 Here My Dear (10th Oct '79 - Dinah
23 Ego Tripping out / Sex & Religion
24 Heavy Love Affair
25 Credits - Marvin Gaye / the Real Th
26 Credits - His Eye is on the Sparrow
27 Got to Give It Up
28 Come & Get to This
29 Let's Get It on
30 After the Dance - Zommerhappening (
31 If This World Were Mine
32 Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing
33 Ain't No Mountain High Enough
34 How Sweet It is
35 I Want You
36 Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Hol
37 Hitch Hike
38 Pride & Joy
39 Can I Get a Witness
40 Pretty Little Baby
41 Ain't That Peculiar
42 You'Re a Wonderful One
43 Ain't No Mountain High Enough
44 I Heard It Through the Grapevine
45 What's Going on
46 Let's Get It on
47 Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing

CD 2:

01 All the Way 'Round
02 Since I Had You
03 Come Get to This
04 Let's Get It on
05 Trouble Man
06 60's Medley
07 What's Going on Medley
08 Duet Medley
09 Distant Lover 
Release date NZ
April 20th, 2006
Movie Format
  • DVD
DVD Region
  • Region 4
  • Standard Edition
Aspect Ratio
  • 1.33 : 1
Supported Audio
  • DTS Digital Surround 5.1
  • DTS Digital Surround 5.1
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...