Alternative Indie & Punk:

Little Sand Box

8 CD Box Set
Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!




or 4 payments of $25.75 with Learn more

or 4 payments of $25.75 with Learn more

Clearance remaining stock must go - priced to clear!
Hurry! Only 1 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships Monday!
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Monday 6-9pm using Evening Express
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm on 14 June to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tuesday using standard courier service


Here is the Little Sand Box, an 8 CD box-set featuring all six commercially released solo albums
by Giant Sand frontman HOWE GELB. Each album has bonus tracks and alternative takes and
also included is the Sno Angel Winging It live CD and a selection of piano pieces entitled Some
Piano. The Little Sand Box includes liner notes from Howe, with an introduction from Sylvie
Simmons, presented in a 48 page perfect bound booklet.


‘Dreaded Brown Recluse’ Original year of release: 1991
‘Hisser’ Original year of release: 1998
‘Confluence’ Original year of release: 2001
‘The Listener’ Original year of release: 2003
‘Sno Angel Like You’ Original year of release: 2006
‘Sno Angel Wingin’ It’ Original Year of release: 2009
‘Alegrias’ Original year of release: 2011
‘Some Piano’ Catalogue Number: FIRECD206

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Spirit Lie
  2. Picture Shows
  3. Loretta And The Insect World
  4. Actually Faxing Sophia
  5. Cello Of The City
  6. Still Too Far
  7. Warm Storm
  8. Always Horses Coming
  9. Vigdis
  10. Vienna Two-Step Throw-Away
  11. Bible Black Book II
  12. Brown Recluse
  13. Wild Dog Waltz
  14. Blanket For Tina
  15. Victoria Wisp
  16. Detrimental Instrumental (Bonus)
  17. Vigdis (Uninterrupted) (Bonus)
  18. Cello In The City (Archivist Remix) (Bonus)
Disc 2:
  1. Temptation Of Egg
  2. 4 Door Maverick
  3. This Purple Child
  4. Shy Of Bumfuck
  5. Propulsion
  6. Catapult
  7. Creeper
  8. Tanks Rolling Into Town
  9. Halifax In A Hurricane
  10. Living On a Waterfall
  11. Like A Store Front Display
  12. Explore You
  13. Nico’s Lil Opera
  14. Thereminender
  15. Hisser
  16. Intro Speck
  17. Soldier Of Fortune
  18. Lull
  19. Short Way To End The Day
  20. No Name Guitar (Bonus)
  21. Cracklin Water (Bonus)
  22. Satellite (Bonus)
  23. Leather (Bonus)
Disc 3:
  1. 3 Sisters
  2. Saint Conformity
  3. Pontiac Slipstream
  4. Sputter
  5. Blue Marble Girl
  6. Source
  7. 2 Rivers
  8. Available Space
  9. Pedal Steel And She’ll
  10. Cold
  11. Can’t Help Falling In Love
  12. Hatch
  13. Shadow Of Where A River Was
  14. Vex (Paris)
  15. Vex (Tuscon)
  16. Hard On Things
  17. Slide Away
  18. Hatch (Live In Tuscon) (Bonus)
Disc 4:
  1. Glisten
  2. Felonius
  3. Jason’s List
  4. Cowboy Boots
  5. Torque (Tango De La Tongue)
  6. Piango
  7. Lying There
  8. B 4 U (Do Do Do)
  9. The Nashville Sound
  10. Blood Orange
  11. Moons Of Impulse
  12. Now I Lay Me Down
  13. Lemmy N Emmy
  14. Torque Originale (Bonus)
  15. B 4 U (Do Do Do) – Alt Mix (Bonus)
Disc 5:
  1. Get To Leave
  2. Paradise Here Abouts
  3. But I Did Not
  4. Hey Man
  5. The Farm
  6. That’s How things Get Done
  7. Love Knows (No Borders)
  8. The Voice Within
  9. Nail In The Sky
  10. Howlin’ A Gale
  11. Robes Of Bible Black
  12. Worried Spirits
  13. Neon Filler
  14. Chore Of Enchantment
  15. Get To Leave – Holy (Bonus)
  16. Nail In the Sky – Original (Bonus)
Disc 6:
  1. Paradise Here Abouts
  2. Dirty From The Rain
  3. That's How Things Get Done
  4. Spiral 5. Robes Of Bible Black
  5. Vortexas
  6. Ballad Of The Tucson 2
  7. Hey Man
  8. Worried Spirits
  9. Howlin' A Gale
  10. Nail In The Sky
  11. Astonished
  12. But I Did Not
  13. Love Knows (No Borders)
Disc 7:
  1. 4 Door Maverick
  2. Uneven Light Of Day
  3. The Ballad Of Lole Y Manuel
  4. Cowboy Boots
  5. Notoriety
  6. Blood Orange
  7. Lost Like A Boat Full Of Rice
  8. Broken Bird And The Ghost River
  9. (There were) Always Horses Coming
  10. The Hangin' Judge
  11. Saint Conformity
  12. Where The Wind Turns The Skin To Leather
  13. One Diner Town
Disc 8:
  1. See (Lull)
  2. What (Lull)
  3. Of (Lull)
  4. Now (Lull)
  5. Spangle Bib Of Radient Value (Ogle)
  6. Before The Tenant They Sat With Popcorn And Hunch (Ogle)
  7. Hokum Bigboy Was Probably Not His Given Name (Ogle)
  8. Tangualtion (Spun)
  9. Loss And Its Hold On Us (Spun)
  10. Denmark Stunningly Soaked (Spun)
  11. Excursion Disruption (Spun)
  12. California Roll (Snarl)
  13. Calculating Route (Snarl)
  14. Ample (Snarl)
Release date NZ
December 6th, 2013
Fire Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...