Documentary TV Series:

Life Collection, The (David Attenborough) (20 Disc Box Set)

Click to share your rating 3 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Parental Guidance Recommended

Parental guidance is recommended for younger viewers.

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 3 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

This was really worth the $ we have watched them over and over – great family entertainment. And great for school projects.


The Life Collection is a boxed set containing all eight of David Attenborough's 'Life' series with over sixty hours of footage!

  • Life of Birds
  • Trials of Life
  • Life In The Freezer
  • The Life Of Mammals
  • The Private Life Of Plants
  • The Living Planet
  • Life In The Undergrowth

Life of Birds

This magnificent series celebrates the incredible variety of the world's best-loved creatures and provides fresh insight into their fascinating way of life.
  • To Fly or Not To Fly - When the dinosaurs disappeared, some birds abandoned flight and made a bid to take over the earth. And some are still doing so today.
  • The Mastery of Flight - Speed, endurance, and unrivalled agility are the hallmarks of the aces of the skies.
  • The Insatiable Appetite - A diversity of bill shapes and sizes have evolved to cope with all the most difficult-to-find foods, but some birds still need tools.
  • Meat Eaters - Both hunters and scavengers need incredible strategies and skills to compete for their elusive prey.
  • The Demands of the Egg - The drive to reproduce is fraught with danger.
  • The Problems of Parenthood - Bringing up a baby is a full-time job that requires some ver special skills.
  • The Limits of Endurance - Changes and disasters wrought by both nature and man can create new challenges.
  • Fishing for a Living - The earth's vast areas of fresh and salt water provide dinner for millions of birds.
  • Signals and Songs - Communication makes everything possible.
  • Finding Partners - Extraordinary displays and bizarre mating rituals.
Trials of Life

Trials of Life is still one of the most comprehensive wildlife documentaries ever made.

Life is one long struggle, a challenge for even the fittest animal. Leaving parents, searching for food, building a home, finding a mate… each day brings a new test. These programs, superbly crafted and originally presented, investigate the many amazing ways in which creatures from all parts of the globe face up to and resolve The Trials of Life.

  • Arriving
  • Growing Up
  • Finding Food
  • Hunting And Escaping
  • Finding The Way
  • Homemaking
  • Living Together
  • Fighting
  • Friends and Rivals
  • Talking to Strangers
  • Courting
  • Continuing the Line

Life In The Freezer

Antarctica – the last true wilderness on Earth.

Life in the Freezer reveals incomparable standards of natural history filming to trace Antarctica’s seasonal cycle from the long winter months when the formation of ice almost doubles its surface area, to the brief summer when the race to breed really heats up. With more scenes of sheer beauty, passion, comedy, aggression and sadness than any drama, Life in the Freezer is an unmissable opportunity to experience the last true wilderness on earth.

The Life Of Mammals

“Mammals, those creatures that are furry, warm-blooded, and nourish their young with milk, are the most popular of all animals – perhaps because we are mammals ourselves”.

The Life of Mammals is BBC’s latest landmark series written and presented by David Attenborough, and an essential title for all video and DVD collections. An epic tale of survival, The Life of Mammals is the story of 4,000 species that outlived the dinosaurs and conquered the earth!

Includes these episodes: A Winning Design, Insect Hunters, Plant Predators, Chisellers, Meat Eaters, Opportunists, Rturn to Water, Life in the Trees, Social Climbers, Food for Thought.

Special Features:

  • Original Score
  • Photo Gallery
  • Fact Files
  • Behind The Scenes
  • Video to Music
  • Scene Selection

The Private Life Of Plants

Sir David Attenborough reveals plants as they have never been seen before - on the move and dangerously devious. Each programme takes one of the major problems of life - growing, finding food, reproduction - and the varied ways plants have evolved to solve it. Filmed from the plant's point of view, using computer animations, fibre-optics and unique time-lapse photography.

Special Features:

  • Blue Peter interview
  • Behind the scenes footage

The Living Planet

David Attenborough presents his epic portrait of the earth’s environments and how plants and animals have adapted to their physical surroundings. Filmed on five continents, The Living Planet begins with the discovery of how huge forces formed the earth, how continents move and how the planet has become so varied. The next ten episodes then concentrate on different environments of the Earth: the frozen Poles, the northern forests, jungle, grasslands, deserts, the sky, rivers and lakes, tidal shores, islands, and oceans. The final episode then ties in the human angle - looking at how humans have changed the Earth’s habitats, destroying but creating new ones. It also investigates what the future may hold for the whole community on our amazing living planet.

Life In The Undergrowth

David Attenborough reveals a secret universe - one teeming with life that is all around us, yet we never see it. It is the world of the very small, and it is a world of sex, drugs and violence. Here David shows us not just bugs, beetles and creepy-crawlies, but scorpions and centipedes, mites and mantids, spiders and dragonflies. We are presented with not just life in the undergrowth, but the dramatic battles between predator and prey that are happening in the corner of your living room and in your larder!

See magnificent spectacles: swarming antler moths; millions of desert locusts; a mountain of cockroaches. And remember, for every pound of humans on Earth, there are 300 pounds of insects.

Episode Listing:
The Invaders from the Sea
Taking To The Air
The Silk Spinners
Intimate Relations
Super Societies
Release date NZ
December 11th, 2007
Movie Format
DVD Region
  • Region 4
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...