Easy Listening & Folk Albums:

Inland (2 CD Set)



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Inland (2 CD Set) by Michael Houston
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 2-3 weeks


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 20-23 August using standard courier delivery

Buy together and save

List price: $65.00

Buy together: $64.38 (save 1%)

33.33% of people buy Inland (2 CD Set) and Live in Concert With the NZSO ~ CD ~ Little Bushman.


This 2 disc, solo piano album by New Zealand’s favourite classical musician both stretches and soothes. Inland realizes Michael Houstoun’s long-held goal to record the music of composers he has maintained a close relationship with. Looming large is the presence of NZ jazz expat Mike Nock’s writing, in a series of largely contemplative ambient pieces.

A household name in New Zealand for over 35 years, Michael Houstoun is especially visible currently as a new Arts Foundation Laureate. Featuring evocative, imaginative and accessible repertoire that spans a range of styles, Inland reaches out far beyond Michael Houstoun’s historic concert hall audience.

While much of his reputation has been built on traditional piano repertoire, more recently Michael Houstoun has increasingly been heard performing new, New Zealand music - here, notably by John Psathas, Gao Ping, Ken Young, Victoria Kelly - and Mike Nock. This direction forms the basis of his upcoming release on Rattle. His commitment to the best New Zealand art music repertoire, sees our paths increasingly intertwined.

Michael’s first outing with Rattle was on John Psathas’ debut Rhythm Spike, and recently featured extensively on John’s massively popular View From Olympus album. Now Michael has now initiated a project to record a suite of contemporary New Zealand solo piano music under his own name.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Chaconne
  2. Questions
  3. Dancing Alone
  4. Remnants
  5. A Time And Place There Was (In Memory Of Douglas Lilburn)
  6. Catharsis
Disc 2:
  1. Dance Fury
  2. Landscape Prelude
  3. Jettatura
  4. Presence
  5. After Bach
  6. Ringstone Round
  7. In The time Of Sakura
  8. Red Descending
  9. Sho's Cradle Song
  10. Promise
  11. Cartwheels
  12. Beautiful Your Eyes
  13. Green Cycle
  14. Raff-Riff
  15. Serenity
Release date NZ
April 12th, 2010
Rattle Records
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...