Fiction Books:

Hood

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Hood by Emma Donoghue
$38.00
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 30 Jul to 2 Aug using standard courier delivery

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of Room, Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner's sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood "utterly charming," writing that,"Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy, and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer." For readers of Jeanette Winterson's Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates's The Widow's Story, Donoghue's Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love'simperfection--and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.

Author Biography

Born in Dublin in 1969, EMMA DONOGHUE is a novelist, screenwriter and playwright who lives in Canada. Her novel Room won the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Canada/Caribbean) and was shortlisted for the Man Booker and Orange Prizes, selling more than two million copies. Donoghue scripted the Canadian-Irish film of Room which was nominated for four Academy Awards, including Best Picture. Her fiction (short and long) ranges from the contemporary (Stir-fry, Hood, Landing, Touchy Subjects) to the historical (Slammerkin, The Sealed Letter, Astray, Frog Music). Donoghue's books for young readers are The Lotterys Plus One and The Lotterys More Or Less. Her last novel for adults, The Wonder, was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.
Release date NZ
October 25th, 2011
Author
Country of Publication
United States
Illustrations
Illustrations, black and white
Imprint
HarperPerennial
Pages
336
Dimensions
135x203x25
ISBN-13
9780062117106
Product ID
18238273

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...