Pop Albums:

Hits Back

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!




Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships in 8-12 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 16-19 November using standard courier service


Hits Back

Includes a foldout exclusive poster and printed innersleeves. All tracks remastered from original tapes to audiophile quality.

The Clash Hits Back features 32 of the band's iconic tracks, across a 3LP set. The tracklisting is sequenced from the band's legendary Brixton Fairdeal show in 1982 and contains the best studio recordings of the full set, plus 8 additional iconic tracks. It comes with the original setlist, handwritten by Joe Strummer which he would tape to the back of his Telecaster before each gig.

“Every show was different. Joe would spend a lot of time composing the running order, considering dynamics, emotional impact and the key the songs were in. This record is based on Joe's setlist from The Casbah Club UK Tour, Brixton Fairdeal, 10th July 1982”. Mick, Paul & Topper.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Printed innersleeves
  • 60×60 cm poster


A tie-in to the exhaustive 2013 box set Sound System, the 2013 compilation The Clash Hits Back is a novel approach to a career retrospective: it mirrors the 24-song set list for the band's July 19, 1982 concert at Brixton Fairdeal, then adds eight bonus hits at the end. The Clash Hits Back slightly tweaks the running order of the original set – “Bankrobber” arrived five songs into the concert but appears eighth here – but that doesn't matter much, as this swap doesn't alter the impact of the original set. The Clash were plugging Combat Rock so songs from that LP – the singles “Rock the Casbah,” “Should I Stay or Should I Go?” and “Straight to Hell,” plus “Ghetto Defendant” and “Know Your Rights,” adding up to just under half the album – sit alongside a heavy chunk of London Calling and early hits, plus a few stabs at Sandinista!. What's added at the end is a mix of their high-octane early material (“White Riot,” “Complete Control,” “Clash City Rockers,” Tommy Gun," “English Civil War”) and their more adventurous studio recordings (“The Call Up,” “Hitsville UK,” “This Is Radio Clash”), adding up to a strong overview of all the band could do. Stephen Thomas Erlewine – Allmusic Guide

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. London Calling
  2. Safe European Home
  3. Know Your Rights
  4. (White Man) In Hammersmith Palais
  5. Janie Jones
  6. The Guns Of Brixton
  7. Train In Vain
  8. Bankrobber
  9. Wrong 'Em Boyo
  10. The Magnificent Seven
  11. Police On My Back
  12. Rock The Casbah
  13. Career Opportunities
  14. Police & Thieves
  15. Somebody Got Murdered
  16. Brand New Cadillac
  17. Clampdown
  18. Ghetto Defendant
  19. Armagideon Time
  20. Stay Free
  21. I Fought The Law
  22. Straight To Hell
  23. Should I Stay Or Should I Go-
  24. Garageland
  25. White Riot
  26. Complete Control
  27. Clash City Rockers
  28. Tommy Gun
  29. English Civil War
  30. The Call Up
  31. Hitsville Uk
Release date NZ
September 13th, 2013
Album Length (Minutes)
Music On Vinyl
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...