Children & Young Adult Books:

His Dark Materials Box Set

Complete Series Gift Set (3 Books)


Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 19 ratings (4.7/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

His Dark Materials Trilogy Boxed Set (Golden Compass) by Philip Pullman

Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

In stock at Mighty Ape

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships tomorrow!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tomorrow 6-9pm using Evening Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Saturday using Saturday Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product on Saturday to most cities and towns in NZ. Learn more
  • Wednesday using standard courier delivery

Buy together and save

List price: $80.50

Buy together: $79.86 (save 1%)

5.12% of people buy His Dark Materials Trilogy Boxed Set (Golden Compass) and The Book of Dust ~ Paperback / softback ~ Philip Pullman.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars Based on 19 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Showing top 3 most helpful reviews.

View all 4 reviews...

Write a Review
"Fantastic service, fast delivery, very happy to recommend."
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Got the item as christmas pressie for my daughter…she will love it as she has been asking me to find this series of books.

"Love this series"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

I love this series and it is great to have them all in a box set

"Daugher loved it."
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

To get the whole trilogy for what some retailers sell a single book for is great! The quality of the product, and quick deliver are the icing on the cake.


Published in 40 countries, Philip Pullman’s best-selling His Dark Materials trilogy – The Golden Compass (also published as Northern Lights), The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass is now available in this beautiful box set.

“One of the supreme literary dreamers and magicians of our time”(The Guardian,UK), “Philip Pullman.Is he the best storyteller ever?”(The Observer,UK)

This fantasy epic follows the coming-of-age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes against a backdrop of dramatic events. The three novels have won various awards, most notably The Amber Spyglass, the 2002 Whitbread Book of the Year prize, while the trilogy as a whole took third place in the BBC's 2003 Big Read poll.

In The Golden Compass (aka Northern Lights), readers meet for the first time 11-year-old Lyra Belacqua, a precocious orphan growing up within the precincts of Jordan College in Oxford, England. It quickly becomes clear that Lyra's Oxford is not precisely like our own – nor is her world. In Lyra's world, everyone has a personal dæmon, a lifelong animal familiar. This is a world in which science, theology and magic are closely intertwined.

In The Subtle Knife, readers are introduced to Will Parry, a young boy living in modern-day Oxford, England. Will is only twelve years old, but he bears the responsibilities of an adult. Following the disappearance of his explorer-father, John Parry, during an expedition in the North, Will became parent, provider and protector to his frail, confused mother. And it's in protecting her that he becomes a murderer, too: he accidentally kills a man who breaks into their home to steal valuable letters written by John Parry. After placing his mother in the care of a kind friend, Will takes those letters and sets off to discover the truth about his father.

The Amber Spyglass brings the intrigue of The Golden Compass and The Subtle Knife to a heartstopping close, marking the third and final volume as the most powerful of the trilogy. Along with the return of Lyra, Will, Mrs. Coulter, Lord Asriel, Dr. Mary Malone, and Iorek Byrnison the armored bear, The Amber Spyglass introduces a host of new characters: the Mulefa, mysterious wheeled creatures with the power to see Dust; Gallivespian Lord Roke, a hand-high spy-master to Lord Asriel; and Metatron, a fierce and mighty angel. And this final volume brings startling revelations, too: the painful price Lyra must pay to walk through the land of the dead, the haunting power of Dr. Malone's amber spyglass, and the names of who will live – and who will die – for love. And all the while, war rages with the Kingdom of Heaven, a brutal battle that – in its shocking outcome – will reveal the secret of Dust.

Release date NZ
May 1st, 2003
Yearling Books
Interest Age
From 10 years
Current sales rank
Top 1000
All-time sales rank
Top 2000
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...