Up-to-date information about Mighty Ape's response to coronavirus (COVID-19)

Children & Young Adult Books:

Crier's War

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Hardback
Crier's War by Nina Varela
Due to COVID-19, we're unable to accept orders for non-essentials items at this time. Learn more...

Description

From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls-one human, one Made-whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution. Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski's The Winner's Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld. After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners' estates and bent the human race to their will. Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family's death...by killing the sovereign's daughter, Lady Crier. Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father's legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn't the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla. Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

Author Biography

Nina Varela is a nationally awarded writer of screenplays and short fiction. She was born in New Orleans and raised on a hippie commune in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent most of her childhood playing in the Eno River, building faerie houses from moss and bark, and running barefoot through the woods. These days, Nina lives in Los Angeles with her writing partner and their tiny ill-behaved dog. She tends to write stories about young people toppling the monarchy/patriarchy/whatever-archy. On a related note, she's queer. On a less related note, she has strong feelings about hush puppies and loves a good jambalaya. Crier's War is her first novel. You can find Nina at any given coffee shop in the greater Los Angeles area or at www.ninavarela.com.
Release date NZ
February 20th, 2020
Author
Country of Publication
United States
Imprint
HarperCollins
Pages
448
Dimensions
147x211x43
ISBN-13
9780062823946
Product ID
31453227

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
(2)
4 star
(0)
3 star
(0)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Help & options

Filed under...