Rock Albums:

Complete Greatest Hits



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product


Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

Hurry! Only 4 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships today!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tonight 6-9pm using Same Day Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tonight to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tomorrow using standard courier delivery


Personnel includes: Gordon Lightfoot (vocals, guitar); Red Shea, Huey McCracken (guitar); Rick Haynes (bass); Jim Gordon (drums, percussion); Kenny Buttrey, Buddy Harmon, Jimmy Isbell (drums).

Producers include: John Court, John Simon, Elliot Mazer, Lenny Waronker, Joe Wissert.

Compilation producer: Thane Tierney.

Include liner notes by Leigh Hall.

Digitally remastered by Andrew Garver, Dan Hersch, and Bill Inglot.

He may be remembered by the unenlightened as a purveyor of mellow '70s AM radio hits, but Gordon Lightfoot is as fine a singer-songwriter as Canada has ever produced (no small accomplishment, considering the company), feted by no less than Bob Dylan himself. COMPLETE GREATEST HITS is as definitive a Lightfoot collection as you can get onto a single disc, and it bears out the aforementioned facts handsomely. "Early Morning Rain," one of Lightfoot's earliest hits, is a poignant evocation of lost love on a par with Merle Haggard's "Silver Wings." "If You Could Read My Mind" has enough introspective pop savvy to compete with Elton John's equally ubiquitous "Your Song." The bluesy, subtly sensual undercurrent of "Sundown" makes it plain why there's always been such a large female contingent in Lightfoot's audience, and "The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald" proves that the pop star can write a timeless-sounding folk ballad worthy of Townes Van Zandt. Clearly, this compendium presents Lightfoot quite rightly as a man for all seasons.

What the critics say...

Uncut (8/02, p.107) - 4 out of 5 - "...A genuine Canuck icon..."
Mojo (Publisher) (11/02, p.122) - "...This compilation does honour to a wholehearted musical life..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Early Morning Rain
  2. For Lovin' Me
  3. Go-Go Round
  4. Canadian Railroad Trilogy
  5. Pussywillows, Cat-Tails
  6. Bitter Green
  7. If You Could Read My Mind
  8. Summer Side Of Life
  9. Cotton Jenny
  10. Beautiful
  11. Sundown
  12. Carefree Highway
  13. Rainy Day People
  14. Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald, The
  15. Race Among The Ruins
  16. Daylight Katy
  17. Circle Is Small, The
  18. Baby Step Back
  19. Stay Loose
  20. Restless
Release date NZ
April 2nd, 2002
Rhino Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...