Fiction Books:

Blue Smoke (Children of War Book #3)

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Paperback / softback
Blue Smoke (Children of War Book #3) by Deborah Challinor

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

On backorder

The item is on backorder with one of our preferred suppliers and is expected to arrive back in stock on the date shown.

More stock due to arrive Aug 23rd

Note: This product can only be shipped to New Zealand or Australia.


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 5-10 August using standard courier delivery

Buy together

66% of people buy Blue Smoke (Children of War Book #3) and White Feathers (Children of War Book #2) ~ Paperback / softback ~ Deborah Challinor.

Buy together: $44.38


In the third and concluding volume of the Tamar trilogy, Tamar is now a wealthy widow with an extensive and prosperous estate in the Hawke's Bay, with her children settling into their own relationships, some more happily than others. In the years leading up to and including World War Two, Tamar struggles to lead her growing family through the economic slump that became the Great Depression. The resulting years of social upheaval, including violent strikes, hunger marches and the Napier Earthquake, leave none of them untouched. When a riding accident almost ends her life, Tamar is forced to draw on her iron will to survive. Left with a permanent limp and a growing awareness of her own mortality, she is forced into ruthless decisions to protect her family and Andrew's dearly loved Kenmore. At the same time, her son James' racist disapproval of her relationship with Kepa and growing flirtation with fascism tests her to the core. The war wreaks havoc on the extended Murdoch family, and through the eyes of Tamar's grandchil­dren, we see its awful effect on a generation facing the enemy in both Europe and the Pacific. At the same time, battles are also being fought on the homefront, which don't end when peace finally prevails. In a powerful and wide-reaching conclusion to this compelling family saga, Deborah Challinor explores the effects of war on three generations of a passionate and fiery New Zealand family.

Author Biography

Deborah Challinor is a freelance writer and historian living in New South Wales, author of many bestsellers including Isle of Tears and the trilogy Kitty, Amber and Band of Gold, and several non-fiction titles including Who'll Stop the Rain and Grey Ghosts.

Release date NZ
April 1st, 2012
Country of Publication
New Zealand
HarperCollins Publishers (New Zealand)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...