Rock Albums:

Blood Sugar Sex Magik

Click to share your rating 8 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Or Buy Now, Pay Later with:

Afterpay is available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Humm is available on orders $20 to $5000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from a Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown.

Usually ships in 8-12 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout
Also available from Marketplace sellers:


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 1-6 September using standard courier service

Buy together

32% of people buy Blood Sugar Sex Magik and Californication ~ CD ~ Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Buy together: $29.63


Red Hot Chili Peppers: Anthony Kiedis (vocals); John Frusciante (guitar); Flea (bass); Chad Smith (drums).

Additional personnel includes: Brendan O'Brien (Melltron); Pete Weiss (Jew's harp); Gail Frusciante (background vocals).

With BLOODSUGARSEXMAGIK the Chilis produced the defining moment of funk rock and the high point of their career. Raunchy and explicit from the first, the lyrical content was not for the easily offended and frequently strayed into misogyny. Musically, it straddled metal and funk with ease; in addition to the stomping, infectious rockers ("Give It Away," "The Power Of Equality") and the downright funky ("Mellowship Slinky," "Apache Rose Peacock"), all underpinned by Flea's virtuosic but unselfish basslines, the band also showed themselves capable of writing surprisingly melodic ballads ("Breaking The Girl," "Under The Bridge").

What the critics say…

Rolling Stone (5/13/99, p.50) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Spin (9/99, p.150) - Ranked #58 in Spin Magazine's "90 Greatest Albums of the '90s."
Spin (10/91) - Highly Recommended
Q (12/99, p.70) - Included in Q Magazine's "90 Best Albums Of The 1990s."
New York Times (Publisher) (10/16/91, p.16) - "…has a tough sound…with funk, punk and rap all mixed up…"

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Power Of Equality, The
  2. If You Have To Ask
  3. Breaking The Girl
  4. Funky Monks
  5. Suck My Kiss
  6. I Could Have Lied
  7. Mellowship Slinky In B Major
  8. Righteous & The Wicked, The
  9. Give It Away
  10. Blood Sugar Sex Magik
  11. Under The Bridge
  12. Naked In The Rain
  13. Apache Rose Peacock
  14. Greeting Song, The
  15. My Lovely Man
  16. Sir Psycho Sexy
  17. They're Red Hot
Release date NZ
September 24th, 1991
Album Length (Minutes)
Warner Bros Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 8 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review


Marketplace listings

Have one to sell? Sell Yours Here
Price Condition Seller Details Buy Now
+ $6.00 courier
Used - Like New
Used but in perfect mint condition with all original manuals and packaging.
Seller Details
McLarenF1 5 stars Ships from Palmerston North

Comments: I will combine shipping costs so please purchase some other items. I will refund any extra shipping charges that have been paid. Thanks.

Buy Now Buy Now

Marketplace items ship directly from the seller. Your payment will be made to Mighty Ape and you will be protected by the Mighty Ape Marketplace Safety Guarantee.

Help & options

Filed under...