Classical & Opera Albums:

Bach2 the Future



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Man Overboard Quintet brings together five like-minded musicians who play and listen to all sorts of music, and who share a love of hot swing. The title of their new collection, “Down in the deep deep blue”, comes from the Isham Jones' song ‘I Hate Myself for Being So Mean to You’, describing the place where the protagonist intends to ‘drown’ (or in some versions to ‘hide’) himself. The album as a whole steers away from more famous names in the American songbook, delving deeper under the surface to include such songs as What a Little Moonlight Can Do by Charles M. Woods from 1937, J.C. Johnson's pro­hibition song Me and My Gin from 1928 and Victoria Spivey's Dirty TB Blues from 1929, inspired by a tuberculosis epidemic. The earliest song in the collection here is an exception – it came not from America, but from the UK. The English composer Philip Braham wrote the music for Limehouse Blues for a revue starring Gertrude Lawrence in 1922. Man Overboard Quintet's first album, All Hands On Deck [CHRCD062] was a huge success. “Violin playing worthy of Grappelli on a disc of pre-war swing tunes.” (The Strad) “Just imagine, if Grappelli and Goodman had got together, what the end product would have sounded like!” (bebopspokenhere)

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Preludio
  2. Loure
  3. Gavotte en Rondeau
  4. Menuet I - Menuet II
  5. Bourrée
  6. Gigue
  7. Adagietto
  8. Allegro Scherzando
  9. Adagio Cantabile
  10. Allegro Molto
  11. Allegro Giocoso
  12. Obsession - Prelude: Poco Vivace
  13. Malinconia - Poco Lento
  14. Danse Des Ombres - Sarabande (Lento)
  15. Les Furies - Allegro Furioso
  16. Moderato
  17. Fugue
  18. Andante
  19. Allegro
  20. Passacaglia
  21. Fantasia I: Broad, Unhurried
  22. Bicinium I
  23. Bicinium II: Lento - Prestissimo, Volando
  24. Fantasia II: Ad Lib, Rubato
  25. Bumblebees
Release date NZ
February 14th, 2017
Champs Hill Records
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 210 Banana Points