Non-Fiction Books:

And the Band Played On

Politics, People, and the AIDS Epidemic

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

And the Band Played On by Randy Shilts
$44.00
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 5-8 August using standard courier delivery

Description

Extensively researched (Shilts interviewed over 1,000 people), weaving together personal stories with political and social reporting And the Band Played On is a masterpiece of investigative reporting (comparable to Truman Capote's In Cold Blood) and it led to Shilts being described as "the pre-eminent chronicler of gay life" ('The New York Times'). And the Band Played On was awarded the Stonewall Book Award, it became an international bestseller (translated into 7 languages) and was made into a major movie in 1993 starring Richard Gere and Ian McKellen. Randy Shilts exposed why AIDS was allowed to spread while the medical and political authorities ignored (and even denied) the threat. And the Band Played On is one of the great works of contemporary journalism, and provides the foundation for the continuing debate about the greatest medical epidemic faced in our time.

Author Biography

Randy Shilts saw himself as a literary journalist in the tradition of Norman Mailer and Truman Capote and was a pioneering voice in raising awareness of gay civil rights issues, as well as the AIDS crisis, and was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists' Association in 1993. He found that he was HIV positive in 1987 and died in 1994. He also wrote The Mayor of Castro Street, a biography of Harvey Milk.
Release date NZ
November 3rd, 2011
Author
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Edition
Main
Imprint
Souvenir Press Ltd
Pages
656
Dimensions
137x216x40
ISBN-13
9780285640191
Product ID
10844487

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...