Easy Listening & Folk Albums:

An Introduction To

Ewan Maccoll



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 8-15 January using standard courier delivery
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas


Specially selected 18 track compilation / Introduction notes and Discography / Track by track information. / Loved by Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart!

Ewan MacColl was a true driving force and historically one of the most important figureheads of the Folk revival of the mid twentieth century. As a youngster he was surrounded by a huge repertoire of songs and stories his parents brought from Scotland when they moved, these along with their strong political views helped shape the then young Jimmie Miller. Ewan gained an interest in politics, then the theatre as he became an actor and playright with strong left-wing beliefs to his true calling as a singer, songwriter within the folk movement. The latter change in direction came from being inspired by the work of one Alan Lomax. Realising the importance of Folk music and the folk music club scene he was able to use this as a platform for his beliefs. In 1953 with Bert Lloyd, Alan Lomax and Seamus Ennis and a few others formed the Ballads and Blues Club in London which was later to become the famous Singers Club.

Ewan MacColl’s recording career took off in 1950 with his first record for Topic Records club. TRC39 ‘The Asphalter’s Song; I’m Champion at Keeping em’ Rolling’ but we start off this introduction To’ release with his most well-known track ‘Dirty Old Town’ released in 1952, again a Topic Records Club release TRC56

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Dirty Old Town
  2. Morrisey And The Russian Sailor
  3. Turpin Hero
  4. The Calton Weaver
  5. Jimmy Wilson
  6. Oh Dear Me
  7. Fourpence a Day
  8. The Black Velvet Band
  9. The Young Trooper Cut Down In His Prime
  10. Wae’s Me for Prince Charlie
  11. The Press Gang, The Sweet Kumadie
  12. The Manchester Angel
  13. To The Beggin’ I Will Go
  14. Sheepcrook And Black Dog
  15. Farewell To Sicily, Hughie The Graeme
  16. Homeward Bound.
Release date NZ
May 25th, 2018
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 120 Banana Points