Pop Albums:


Sorry, this product is no longer available at Mighty Ape

Available from Marketplace sellers:




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Woodface by Crowded House
This product is not currently available new.
Available from Marketplace sellers:


This is Crowded House's first LP with Tim Finn.

Crowded House: Tim Finn (vocals, guitar); Neil Finn (vocals); Nick Seymour (bass); Paul Hester (drums).

"Beauty" is not a word often used to describe pop music. But in the case of Neil Finn and the Australian-based trio Crowded House, it is more than appropriate. On WOODFACE, the group is joined by Finn's brother, Split Enz-meister Tim Finn, for an album that's filled with intelligence, grace, and humor, not to mention absolutely breathtaking vocal harmonies. There is a depth and texture to the songwriting and performance in the songs of Crowded House, which is just not found in most popular music.

The CD opens with "Chocolate Cake," a track that categorized Americans as fat and greedy and didn't exactly earn the band a top spot on U.S. airplay lists. The disc moves to the stunning "Its Only Natural" and "Fall at Your Feet." Just listen to "Weather With You" to find out how perfect pop music can be--it's a track that manages the difficult task of never devolving into sentimentality or inanity. The stirring surrender of "Four Seasons in One Day" further demonstrates Neil Finn's ability to transform his deepest, most disturbed emotions into great songs.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (8/91) - Highly Recommended - "...Woodface has the big melodies and bold performances you want..."
Entertainment Weekly (7/12/91) - "...Neil Finn continues to prove himself one of the canniest and most gifted melodists around..." - Rating: B+
Q (12/99, p.70) - Included in Q Magazine's "90 Best Albums Of The 1990s."
New York Times (Publisher) (9/18/92, p.C24) - "...recalls Paul McCartney at his late-60's peak...the group offers dazzling harmonies, clever lyrics, crisp instrumentation and an ideal balance between sweetness, frolic and introspection..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Chocolate Cake
  2. It's Only Natural
  3. Fall At Your Feet
  4. Tall Trees
  5. Weather With You
  6. Whispers And Moans
  7. Four Seasons In One Day
  8. There Goes God
  9. Fame Is
  10. All I Ask
  11. As Sure As I Am
  12. Italian Plastic
  13. She Goes On
  14. How Will You Go
Release date NZ
July 23rd, 1996
Album Length (Minutes)
Capitol/EMI Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

Have one to sell? Sell Yours Here
Price Condition Seller Details Buy Now
+ $4.70 courier
or $3.20 post
Used - Good
Used but with signs of wear. May not contain original manuals and packaging.
Seller Details
BooksToGo 5 stars Ships from Auckland, 0632

Comments: Australian issue. Some very faint marks to disc not effecting play. The front insert shows light signs of handling,

Buy Now Buy Now

Marketplace items ship directly from the seller. Your payment will be made to Mighty Ape and you will be protected by the Mighty Ape Marketplace Safety Guarantee.

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...