Easy Listening & Folk Albums:


Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


In 1999 Dame Kiri Te Kanawa released ‘Maori Songs’, her 2nd collection of Maori folk songs
and prayers. The album went on to sell 90,000 units in NZ alone, achieving 6 times platinum

That project was initiated by prominent NZ pianist/arranger Carl Doy, who has 13 years later
created the follow up album ‘Waiata’. After many months of planning Dame Kiri returned to
NZ in July to record her vocals for the album at Carl’s Brown’s Bay home studio. Carl Doy had
earlier scored the accompaniments for our own NZSO and the Auckland University’s Cham­ber
Choir, with renowned actor and Maori speaker George Henare as ‘guide and philosopher’.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Tama Ngakau Marie (Son of a Peaceful Heart)
  2. Karu Karu (Expectation)
  3. Haere E Hine (Farewell My Lady Fair)
  4. He Puti Puti Koe (To a Lovely Flower)
  5. Maringi Noa (I Weep for Your Return)
  6. Awe Maria (Hail Mary)
  7. E Te Ariki (Our Lord - Watch over Us)
  8. He Wawata (The Days of Yearning)
  9. Te Taniwha (The God of the Sea)
  10. Whakaaria Mai (How Great Thou Art)
  11. E Te Iwi E (Call to the People)
  12. Kohu-Auahi (Blue Smoke)
  13. Aue E Te Iwi E (The Pride of Our Maori People)
  14. Kamate (Darkness into Light)
  15. Tirohia Mokoia (Look to the Island)
  16. Ehara Te Waea (Love Never Breaks)
Release date NZ
November 15th, 2013
Sony Music
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...