Funk & Soul Albums:

Under The Influence - Vol.6

Compiled by Faze Action



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Z Records continues its commitment to unearthing the obscure and long forgotten tracks from the last 40 years through the ever-popular Under The Influence series. Following on from Red Greg, Paul Phillips, James Glass, Nick The Record and Sean P it’s now the turn of one of the scenes most respected live disco acts and renowned DJ’s, Faze Action.

Robin and Simon Lee aka Faze Action, were championing disco and all its afro off-shoots back in the mid 90’s when it certainly wasn’t the latest trend to do so. “By the mid 90s we were heavily into Disco. Fuelled by radio shows from the likes of Norman Jay as well as conversations with customers in the record store where I worked, who were all super obsessed, we would talk disco for hours.” remembers Simon Lee. It was however their Original Disco Motion and In The Trees releases on nuphonic records that shaped the Faze Action sound and were defining moments of the time and played a large part in coining the term nu-disco.

Fast forward 20+ years and the brothers Lee are still pushing the modern disco sound with their live sets and studio productions s Faze Action. Alongside their studio work they’ve always been serious record collectors so their selections for this latest Under The Influence album are reflective of their extensive collecting and digging history. As Simon confirms, “searching for and buying old records helps to keep our musical thirst alive and is a constant source of inspiration for both our DJ sets and our original productions.”

Here they’ve included tracks taking in afro, italo, soul, funk, disco with many of the tracks costing hundreds if you were able to find the originals. They have also edited some of the tracks exclusively for this album adding yet more value to an already fully packed gatefold double LP and double CD

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Carol Dionne - I'm In Love With You
  2. Leston Paul - All Nite Tonight (Mix)
  3. Bebe Manga - Lokognolo
  4. Saraba - Barlia (Kulandjagnho)
  5. Courtial feat. Errol Knowles - Love Nevermore
  6. Stylus - We All Need One Another
  7. Midway - Set It Out (Faze Action Edit)
  8. Delight - Is It Too Late feat. Phenix Horns Esquire
  9. Disco Circus - Dig It
  10. Michele Claire - In The Bush
Disc 2:
  1. Galaxy - Let Love Begin
  2. Mikki feat. Starz - Dance Lover (Faze Action Edit)
  3. Pilgrim Fathers Orchestra - Touch Me Don't Stop
  4. Songhoi Band - Africa Africa (Faze Action Edit)
  5. Oscar Perry - Body Movements
  6. Don Lurio - Ruba Ruba
  7. Space - Mixed Up (Faze Action Edit)
  8. Tony Antoniou - Send In The Night (Inst. Mix)
  9. Spats - Hot Summer Madness
  10. Banzai - Runaway
Release date NZ
May 25th, 2018
Z Records
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 180 Banana Points