Rock Albums:

Turn It On Again: The Hits




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Turn It On Again: The Hits by Genesis

Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

Hurry! Only 3 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships Monday!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Monday 6-9pm using Evening Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm on 18 November to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tuesday using standard courier delivery

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Genesis I remember some of these songs in the 80s Phil Collins is a good singer. There are a few of this hits on this CD good one when driving.


Genesis: Peter Gabriel (vocals, flute); Phil Collins (vocals, drums); Ray Wilson (vocals); Mike Rutherford (guitar, bass); Steve Hackett (guitar); Tony Banks (keyboards); Nir Zidkyahu (drums).

Additional personnel: Andy Richard, Gerry Hughes, Jamie Muhoberac.

Producers include: Trevor Horn, David Hentschel, Genesis, Hugh Padgham, Nick Davis.

Engineers include: David Hentschel, Hugh Padgham, Nick Davis.

Genesis: Mike Rutherford, Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Steve Hackett, Tony Banks.

Recording information: 1978 - 1999.

Being a hits collection, it makes sense that TURN IT ON consists mostly of post-Peter Gabriel tunes. Phil Collins' more pop-friendly leadership brought Genesis its greatest commercial success. Despite the radio-readiness of such tunes as "Invisible Touch" and "In Too Deep," many of the Collins-led albums contain compositions that would have done Gabriel proud, like the odd-metered song that gives this collection its title (and wouldn't have seemed out of place on the brash LAMB LIES DOWN ON BROADWAY), or the creepy, eccentric "Mama."

In any event, there's no denying the innate catchiness of Collins' winning pop conventions when they're deployed in the service of such infectious compositions as the pretty "Follow You, Follow Me" or the McCartneyish "That's All." To balance things out, a couple of the original lineup's more accessible moments are included, most notably the quirky-but-catchy "I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)." TURN IT ON AGAIN doesn't show the prog-rock side of Genesis, but it makes an inarguable case for them as aesthetically conscious hit-makers.

What the critics say...

Q (11/99, p.154) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...proves that behind the musical grandiloquence there were often great tunes....Collins remains the linchpin's hard not to admire the singing drummer and wonder how he ever turned this ship around."
Mojo (Publisher) (11/99, p.129) - "...efficient pop-rock on which a thousand AOR radio stations built market share since 1981....[Genesis] do mid-tempo ballads, mid-tempo rockers....They do white funk, scary...and lighter in the air...all in the same closely defined soundworld....never [repeating] themselves..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Turn It On Again
  2. Invisible Touch
  3. Mama
  4. Land Of Confusion
  5. I Can't Dance
  6. Follow You, Follow Me
  7. Hold On My Heart
  8. Abacab
  9. I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
  10. No Son Of Mine
  11. Tonight, Tonight, Tonight
  12. In Too Deep
  13. Congo
  14. Jesus He Knows Me
  15. That's All
  16. Misunderstanding
  17. Throwing It All Away
  18. Carpet Crawlers 1999, The
Release date NZ
October 26th, 1999
Atlantic (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...