NZ Pop Rock Albums:

True Colours

(40th Anniversary Edition)
Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!




Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

On backorder

The item is on backorder with one of our preferred suppliers and is expected to arrive back in stock on the date shown.

More stock due to arrive Friday


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 12-17 August using standard courier delivery


True Colours, the most commercially successful album of New Zealand group Split Enz’s career, will be reissued in numerous formats to celebrate its 40th anniversary in 2020.

Working with freshly digitised audio taken from the original album tapes, Split Enz’s Eddie Rayner has produced a stunning new mix of True Colours for the acclaimed album’s 40th birthday. Rather than just another remaster from the existing final tracks Rayner took all the original recordings from each song of the record to mix them together from the ground up in these state of art remixes.

But why does the album need to be remixed? Eddie Rayner is taking back the original sound of the album which has been muddled over time as he explains, “I have both the original stereo masters from the 1979 mixing sessions, and the versions currently held in repositories such as Spotify….and they are radically different, sonically. The original masters are mixed, but unmastered, and the Spotify versions have been brutally, and probably repeatedly remastered… by whom, when, where and why, nobody will ever know. So for me, remixing to both restore and improve the currently-available mix AND the overall sound, for this 40th anniversary release, was a good idea.”

True Colours was recorded in Melbourne's Ar­mstrong Studio in late 1979 and featured the band line-up of Tim Finn (vocals), Neil Finn (guitar and vocals), Eddie Rayner (keyboards), Noel Crombie (percussion), Nigel Griggs (bass) and Malcolm Green (drums). Produced by 20-year-old British producer David Tickle (Blondie, The Knack, Divinyls), True Colours features timeless Split Enz songs including “Poor Boy”, “I Hope I Never” and “I Got You”.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Shark Attack
  2. I Got You
  3. What’s The Matter With You
  4. Double Happy
  5. I Wouldn’t Dream Of It
  6. I Hope I Never
  7. Nobody Takes Me Seriously
  8. Missing Person
  9. Poor Boy
  10. How Can I Resist Her
  11. The Choral Sea
  12. Firedrill (Live form the Capitol Theatre Sydney, Jul 1982)
  13. Hard Act To Follow (Live from Logan Campbell Centre Auckland, Dec 1984)
  14. I Walk Away (Live from Festival Hall Melbourne, Nov 1984)
  15. Log Cabin Fever (Live from Capitol Theatre Sydney, Jul 1982)
  16. Lost For Words (Live from Capitol Theatre Sydney, Jul 1982)
  17. Ninnee Neez Up (Live from Festival Hall Melbourne, Nov 1984)
  18. Wail (Live from Regent Theatre Sydney, Mar 1981)
Release date NZ
August 7th, 2020
Album Length (Minutes)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Current sales rank
Top 1000
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...