Mighty Ape is continuing to dispatch and deliver orders nationwide as normal while Auckland operates under COVID-19 Alert Level 3. Learn more...

R&B & Hip Hop Records:

To Pimp a Butterfly (LP)

Click to share your rating 12 ratings (4.8/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

In stock at Mighty Ape

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships Monday!

Note: This is a bulky item. Delivery to the South Island may take an extra 1-2 business days.


This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tuesday using standard courier delivery

Buy together

21% of people buy To Pimp a Butterfly (LP) and good kid, m.A.A.d city (Deluxe LP) ~ Vinyl ~ Kendrick Lamar.

Buy together: $112.28


Following the success of his major label debut, “good kid, m.A.A.d. city” in 2012, Kendrick Lamar releases his new album, “To Pimp a Butterfly”.

The new album brings listeners up to his present day, from world tours to the B.E.T. Awards, and the separation he feels from his past. Rather than relief, his escape from Compton Calif. has brought only more opportunities for sin and self-doubt, an internal chaos reflected not only in his intricate stories but also in vigorous jazz- and funk-inflected production that builds on the smoother West Coast sounds of his debut.

On the album, after some “soul-searching,” including visits not only back to Compton but also to Nelson Mandela’s cell on Robben Island, Mr. Lamar preaches black unity in the face of oppression. Self-pity turns to on-the-ground action and consciousness-raising.

But to call “To Pimp a Butterfly” a political record “would be shortchanging it”, Kendrick Lamar said. “It’s a record full of strength and courage and honesty” but also “growth and acknowledgment and denial”.

“I want you to get angry — I want you to get happy”, he said. “I want you to feel disgusted. I want you to feel uncomfortable”.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Wesley's Theory (Kendrick Lamar, George Clinton, Thundercat)
  2. For Free- - Interlude
  3. King Kunta
  4. Institutionalized (Kendrick Lamar, Bilal, Anna Wise, Snoop Dogg)
  5. These Walls (Kendrick Lamar, Bilal, Anna Wise, Thundercat)
  6. u
  7. Alright
  8. For Sale- - Interlude
  9. Momma
  10. Hood Politics
  11. How Much A Dollar Cost (Kendrick Lamar, James Fauntleroy, Ronald Isley)
  12. Complexion (A Zulu Love) (Kendrick Lamar, Rapsody)
  13. The Blacker The Berry
  14. You Ain't Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
  15. i - Album Version
  16. Mortal Man
Release date NZ
October 23rd, 2015
Interscope Records
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
All-time sales rank
Top 5000
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars Based on 12 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Help & options

Filed under...