Mighty Ape is now shipping its full product range with Auckland's move to COVID-19 Alert Level 3. Learn more...

Funk & Soul Albums:

Things Gonna Get Better: Street Funk and Grooves 1970-1971

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


This is an exciting glimpse into the world of black American funk, jazz and soul from the early 70s. The music has a political agenda, even when it isn’t overtly preaching a message.

Recorded after the 60s dream had ended, during the era of Watergate, the oil crisis and financial crash, there is a schizophrenic edge to the music here. There are tracks about trying to get things right, but also about partying as a way to forget.

Street funk from Oliver Sain, Dave Hamilton, Billie Sha Rae is showcased alongside the jazzier sounds of Oliver Nelson, “Groove” Holmes and Harold Alexander. There is also the first flowering of disco with the Fatback-related ‘Mucho Macho’ (featuring the previously unissued extended version) and Chet Ivey tracks.

The compilation features many sides to be released on CD for the first time, including two Detroit funk gems from the vaults of Dave Hamilton. Another first release is ‘Chains’ from
Gil Scott Heron’s college group Black And Blues.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Dose Of Soul - Chet Ivey And His Fabulous Avengers
  2. Skull Session - Oliver Nelson
  3. 125th And 7th Avenue - Richard 'Groove’ Holmes
  4. A Chance For Peace (7 Inch Edit) - Lonnie Liston Smith
  5. What You See Is What You Get - Pretty Purdie & The Playboys
  6. Tite Rope - Harold Alexander
  7. What’s The Matter With The World - Dave Hamilton
  8. Things Gonna Get Better - Clarence Coulter
  9. Soul Meeting - Don Williams And The Exchange
  10. Mucho Macho (Full Length Version) – Macho A Joyful Process – Funkadelic
  11. I’m A Believer (Single Edit) - Idris Muhammad
  12. Music For The Brothers - The Solicitors
  13. Pay Some Dues - Ruby Delicious
  14. Shorty The Pimp - Don Julian & The Larks
  15. Do It - Billy Sha Rae
  16. Chains - Blacks & Blues
  17. Push On Jessie Jackson (7 Inch Edit) - The Pace-Setters
  18. One Man’s Loss - Vernon Garrett
  19. St Louis Breakdown - Oliver Sain
Release date NZ
March 25th, 2016
Beat Goes Public
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...