Children & Young Adult Books:

They Both Die at the End

TikTok made me buy it! The international No.1 bestseller
Click to share your rating 8 ratings (4.1/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Paperback / softback
$21.00

Or Buy Now, Pay Later with:

Afterpay is available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

5 payments of $4.20 with Humm Learn more

4 payments of $5.25 with Zip Learn more

Hurry! Only 5 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in a Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown.

Order now and it ships tomorrow
Or upgrade to Jungle Express and get it before 6pm tomorrow
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

This product is In stock with Mighty Ape

The item is brand new and in-stock in a Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown.

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tomorrow before 6pm using
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product before 6pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tomorrow 6-9pm using Evening Express
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Friday using standard courier service

Buy together

10% of people buy They Both Die at the End and It Ends With Us ~ Paperback / softback ~ Colleen Hoover.

Buy together: $38.83

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars Based on 8 Customer Ratings

5 star
(4)
4 star
(2)
3 star
(1)
2 star
(1)
1 star
(0)
Write a Review
"For Fans of JGreen and Diversity"
2 stars"

✨For more book-focused fun, check out my blog:✨

MY EXPERIENCE WITH THE BOOK: Before you call me heartless and immune to the power of diverse books, please know I appreciated the solemness of this book. I appreciate it going against the grain. The reason this is not rated higher for me was that it made me anxious. Every single time I picked it up. The only other book that made me feel this way was I'll Give You the Sun.

CHARACTERS/DY­NAMICS: Mateo: Mateo is our soft gay -. I totally relate to his thought process, which initially made me not want to read on. I like reading different perspectives sometimes. They bring the unexpected! As the story progresses, all I cared about was his unfortunate story.

Rufus: Rufus was rad to start off with, but I soon felt disconnect to his life-story. Also I got sick of him saying “yo”, “mad” and “man”. It seemed way to artificial, but who am I to judge---

PLOT: It's modern day, but allegedly everyone (though I'm sure it's more exclusively Americans) are told the day they're going to die. The catch: it's on the day, usually at 12am.

Mateo and Rufus are like: oh man that blows.

So through the beauty of social media, they befriend each other. They say goodbye.

That's about it.

I was expecting cooler sci-fi elements where they try to defy the system or discover how the Death Cast works.

STRUCTURE: This story alternates mainly between Mateo and Rufus, but there are fun elements of other characters who cross paths with the boys, who may or may not be dying. I really enjoyed Silvera starting each new perspective with “___ is/not going to die today, because Death Cast did/not call them.”

THEMES:

  • … Death
  • gay latin dudes
  • all the sad moments in John Green but slightly warped and stretched so it's a bit “meh” than WOW KILL ME.

THE ENDING: (view spoiler) It was a little drawn out, since this entire book is leading to their deaths. I was still surprised about Mateo at the end, though. So… Props to that!

IMPACT: Yeah so I now know that Silvera certainly isn't so epically profound for me, but I do appreciate his writing style. It's poetic. However, I generally dislike YA contemporary and his writing is no exception for turning me over.

Description

A love story with a difference - an unforgettable tale of life, loss and making each day count in the INTERNATIONAL NO. 1 BESTSELLING book of TIKTOK fame, clocking up 80 million views and counting! The First to Die at the End, the prequel to They Both Die at the End, is now available to pre-order in hardback, coming October 2022. On September 5th, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: they're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: there's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure - to live a lifetime in a single day. Another beautiful, heartbreaking and life-affirming book from the brilliant Adam Silvera, author of More Happy Than Not, History Is All You Left Me, What If It's Us, Here's To Us and the Infinity Cycle series. PRAISE FOR ADAM SILVERA: 'There isn't a teenager alive who won't find their heart described perfectly on these pages.' Patrick Ness, author of The Knife of Never Letting Go 'Adam Silvera is a master at capturing the infinite small heartbreaks of love and loss and grief.' Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything 'A phenomenal talent.' Juno Dawson, author of Clean and Wonderland 'Bold and haunting.' Lauren Oliver, author of Delirium

Author Biography:

Adam Silvera is the No.1 international bestselling author of They Both Die at the End and many more novels. He was born and raised in New York City and now writes full-time in Los Angeles.
Release date NZ
September 7th, 2017
Author
Collection
Audience
  • Teenage / Young Adult
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Pages
384
Dimensions
130x198x24
ISBN-13
9781471166204
Product ID
26622005

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...