Rock Albums:

The Way It Is



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 2-9 January using standard courier delivery
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas


Glenn Hughes’ reissue programme for Purple Records continues apace with the release of his 1999 solo album, “The Way It Is”. Produced by Glenn Hughes & Michael Scott, as well as featuring original material written with guitarist JJ Marsh, the album also includes two versions of Jimi Hendrix’s ‘Freedom’. Glenn Hughes originally came to prominence in Trapeze, but major success for the band was curtailed in 1973 when Glenn joined Deep Purple for “Burn”, “Stormbringer” and “Come Taste The Band”. When Purple split in 1976, Glenn’s first post-Purple LP was the solo “Play Me Out”, released in July 1977. Glenn would go on to collaborate with Pat Thrall in Hughes/Thrall, Rainbow’s Joe Lynn Turner in the Hughes-Turner Project, and with Tony Iommi in Black Sabbath and the selftitled “Iommi” albums, plus a healthy solo career, that continues to this day.

This 2CD edition includes a live concert recorded at London’s Astoria 2, and features versions of Trapeze classics ‘You Are the Music’, ‘Coast To Coast’ and ‘Your Love Is Alright’, as well as an extended medley of Deep Purple tracks plus the song ‘Gone’, co-written with Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi. The expanded booklet features liner notes by Classic Rock magazine's Malcolm Dome based on new interviews with Glenn.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. The Way It Is
  2. You Kill Me
  3. Neverafter
  4. Rain on Me
  5. Curse
  6. Freedom
  7. The Truth Will Set Me Free
  8. Stoned in the Temple
  9. Too Far Gone
  10. Second Son
  11. Take You Down
  12. Don't Look Away
  13. Freedom (Shagmeister Mix)
Disc 2:
  1. The State I'm in
  2. Midnight Meditated
  3. Gone
  4. Might Just Take Your Life
  5. Muscle and Blood
  6. You Kill Me
  7. Medusa
  8. You Are the Music
  9. Your Love Is Alright
  10. Coast to Coast
  11. Purple Medley: Owed to / Sail Away / Lay Down Stay Down / Gettin' Tighter
Release date NZ
August 18th, 2017
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 168 Banana Points