Graphic Novels & Comics:

The Walking Dead Compendium: v. 1

Click to share your rating 118 ratings (4.9/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Paperback / softback
The Walking Dead Compendium: v. 1 by Robert Kirkman

or 4 payments of $28.25 with Learn more

On backorder

The item is on backorder with one of our preferred suppliers and is expected to arrive back in stock on the date shown.

More stock due to arrive May 23rd
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 25-28 May using standard courier service

Buy together

51% of people buy The Walking Dead Compendium: v. 1 and The Walking Dead Compendium: Volume 2 ~ Paperback / softback ~ Robert Kirkman.

Buy together: $215.38

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars Based on 118 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Showing top 3 most helpful reviews.

View all 15 reviews...

Write a Review
"Forget what you thought you knew about The Walking Dead."
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

I read this after watching the show. First off; the show has dramatically changed events and deaths while still sticking to the general story line. Some characters in the comic lasted much longer than their TV counterpart, while others died much quicker. A few characters even have completely different personalities. The comic is so very different, but yet still kind of the same to the show. Read it and you'll understand. It will literally blow your mind. This chunk of the comics wraps up the Prison Saga, so after you've read this, you'll be ahead of the show. This comic is a one of a kind, and I regret not reading it sooner. Far better than the show in ways I cannot describe. Just buy it. No regrets.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
"Awesome collection for Walking Dead fans."
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Great series! This huge slab of a book is a huge chunk of the comic series. It contains the whole “prison saga” which is my favorite part of the series. If you want to get into this great series I recommend getting the Compendium. Cant wait for #2.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
"If you like the walking dead...."
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

…Then Of course you'll love this. I got into the TV show first, but reading this was great. Amazing story, can't wait for Compendium v 2!! I'll read this again too.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Introducing the first eight volumes of this fan-favorite series collected into one massive paperback collection!

This vol.1 title collects “The Walking Dead” numbers 1–48.

Author Biography
Robert Kirkman is a New York Times bestselling author known for being the cultural zeitgeist of the comic book industry. He maintains one prerogative in every undertaking: quality. It is Kirkman's belief that good people who produce good writing and good ideas make comics people love. Kirkman was recently made partner at Image Comics, and AMC is adapting his bestselling series, The Walking Dead, into a TV series (set to debut in October 2010).


“Chapter One: Days Gone By” – After being involved in a shoot-out, cop Rick awakes from a coma isolated, but not alone, in a local hospital. Apparently, in the time he was out, something has shifted in the world and now the dead walk…

“Chapter Two: Miles Behind Us” – Having given up on immediate rescue–the group now just pursues safety. This section is most notable for the introduction of Tyreese, a natural leader who forges a strong alliance with Rick. A gated community seems just perfect and the group is thrilled by the prospect of some normalcy. But all is not as it seems, and “The Walking Dead” establishes that no one is safe…

“Chapter Three: Safety Behind Bars” finds our ragtag band of survivors moving into a new safe haven. This one has real promise–it's a well secured prison. While Chapter Two has forced us to confront the fact that no one is safe, new hope springs alive…

“Chapter Four: The Heart's Desire” – Rick takes another controversial step to defend his tribe. Is he losing his humanity or doing whatever is necessary to survive? As a new character is introduced, the enigmatic warrior Michonne, things start to unravel for Tyreese.

“Chapter Five: The Best Defense” . Tracking a downed helicopter, Rick, Glenn and Michonne head off to look for survivors. What they discover instead is another encampment–a whole town fenced off and self sufficient.

“Chapter Six: This Sorrowful Life” picks up with Rick, Glenn and Michonne held captive as the ruthless “Governor” tries to extract the location of their camp. Finding unexpected allies in the doctor, his young assistant, and a perimeter guard Martinez–a plot to escape has been hatched.

“Chapter Seven: The Calm Before” – A small band rounding up supplies faces down more of the “Governor's” men. Then the group, wary of being discovered by their newfound enemy, starts to become complacent when no sign is of attack comes over the next few weeks. We see normalcy start to return as Rick and Lori confront unpleasant aspects of their relationship, Lori gives birth, Maggie and Glenn consider a family, Michonne starts to thaw, the new “doctor” gets comfortable. But in this peace, one of the crew finally goes over the deep end with unpleasant consequences.

“Chapter Eight: Made To Suffer” reintroduces the “Governor” and what happened in the aftermath of Michonne's visit. The rest of the volume is an all out assault as the “Governor” and his crew try to break into the prison…

Release date NZ
May 19th, 2009
  • General (US: Trade)
  • By (artist) Charlie Adlard
  • By (artist) Cliff Rathburn
Country of Publication
United States
Image Comics
All-time sales rank
Top 1000
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...