Fiction Books:

The Tournament

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Paperback / softback
The Tournament by Matthew Reilly
$18.00

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships in 8-12 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 23-26 August using standard courier service

Description

The bestselling historical mystery from Australia's favourite novelist "Reilly's concoction makes for a cracking read." Sun Herald "a fast-paced and exhilarating romp" Weekend Australian "...the best novel that Reilly has written" The Age Even a pawn can become a queen. The year is 1546. Suleiman the Magnificent, the powerful and feared Sultan of the Ottoman Empire, issues an invitation to every king in Europe: YOU ARE INVITED TO SEND YOUR FINEST PLAYER TO COMPETE IN A CHESS TOURNAMENT TO DETERMINE THE CHAMPION OF THE KNOWN WORLD. The English delegation - led by esteemed scholar Roger Ascham - journeys to the glittering city of Constantinople. Accompanying Ascham is his pupil, Bess, who is about to bear witness to events she never thought possible. For on the first night of the tournament, a powerful guest of the Sultan is murdered, and against the backdrop of the historic event, Ascham is tasked with finding the killer. Barbaric deaths, unimaginable depravity and diplomatic treachery unfold before Bess's eyes, indelibly shaping her character and determining how she will perform her future role...as Queen Elizabeth I. Shortlisted for the ABIA General Fiction Book of the Year 2014 "The lusty bawdiness of The Borgias, the cunning sleuthing of an Agatha Christie and a large dose of The Tudors" Australian Women's Weekly Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy and Michael Crichton will love Matthew Reilly.

Author Biography

Matthew Reilly is the international bestselling author of thirteen novels: Contest, Ice Station, Temple, Area 7, Scarecrow, Hover Car Racer, Hell Island, Seven Ancient Wonders, The Six Sacred Stones, The Five Greatest Warriors, Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves, The Tournament, The Great Zoo of China and the upcoming Troll Mountain. His books are published in over 20 languages, with worldwide sales exceeding 4 million copies.
Release date NZ
May 1st, 2015
Pages
432
Audience
  • General (US: Trade)
Country of Publication
Australia
Imprint
Pan Australia
Dimensions
129x198x29
ISBN-13
9781742614281
Product ID
24162688

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...