Rock Albums:

The Story Of The Clash, Volume 1 [Remastered] (2CD)

Sorry, this product is no longer available at Mighty Ape

Available from Marketplace sellers:

The Story Of The Clash, Volume 1 [Remastered] (2CD)

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



The Story Of The Clash, Volume 1 [Remastered] (2CD) by The Clash
This product is not currently available new.
Available from Marketplace sellers:


Producers include: The Clash, Guy Stevens, Mikey Dread, Lee Perry, Sandy Perlman.

Includes liner notes by Albert Transom.

Digitally remastered by Ray Staff & Bob Whitney (Whitfield Street Studios, London, England).

Though not the definitive anthology that the CLASH ON BROADWAY box is, THE STORY OF THE CLASH is an appealing, if confusing, two-disc compilation of the second World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band. Any collection that draws on the early-to-mid-period recordings of the Clash (as this one does) is bound to be worthwhile, and THE STORY OF THE CLASH sweetens the pot by throwing in some relative obscurities, like “Armagideon Time” and “Spanish Bombs” along with classics like “London Calling” and “Career Opportunities.” The mildly disconcerting aspect of this set is the lack of chronological or thematic order; songs from all phases of the band's career are thrown together in seemingly random fashion, so this doesn't really function as a history of the band. It does, however, put a whole lot of great Clash songs in one place, and you can't go wrong with that.

What the critics say…

Q (12/99, pp.152–3) – 4 stars out of 5 – “…tells its tale well, if not comprehensively…”

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Magnificent Seven, The
  2. Rock The Casbah
  3. This Is Radio Clash
  4. Should I Stay Or Should I Go
  5. Straight To Hell
  6. Armagideon Time
  7. Clampdown
  8. Train In Vain
  9. Guns Of Brixton, The
  10. I Fought The Law
  11. Somebody Got Murdered
  12. Lost In The Supermarket
  13. Bank Robber
Disc 2:
  1. In Hammersmith Palais, (White Man)
  2. London's Burning
  3. Janie Jones
  4. Tommy Gun
  5. Complete Control
  6. Capitol Radio
  7. White Riot
  8. Career Opportunities
  9. Clash City Rockers
  10. Safe European Home
  11. Stay Free
  12. London Calling
  13. Spanish Bombs
  14. English Civil War
  15. Police And Thieves
Release date NZ
January 25th, 2000
Album Length (Minutes)
Legacy Recordings
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

Have one to sell? Sell Yours Here
Price Condition Seller Details Buy Now
+ $3.90 courier
New - Brand New
Product is brand new, unopened, unused with original manuals and packaging in perfect condition.
Seller Details
SmokeCDs 5 stars Ships from Upper Hutt
Buy Now Buy Now

Marketplace items ship directly from the seller. Your payment will be made to Mighty Ape and you will be protected by the Mighty Ape Marketplace Safety Guarantee.

Help & options

Filed under...