Oldies & Nostalgia Albums:

The Spirit of Radio

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 4-6 days

Note: This product can only be shipped to New Zealand or Australia.


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 13-16 July using standard courier delivery


Although it wasn't until 1973 that the first Bruce Springsteen album was released, he had been a fixture on the New Jersey bar circuit for the best part of five years before that. In fact, so well known were the ensemble by the early 1970s – by which time the group were playing across the US – largely via word of mouth, Bruce and a couple of soon to be E Street band members were invited into Bostons WBCN FM to strum a few tunes and goof around a little even before their debut was in the shops. As can be heard on the first disc of this set, the results of this stopover are staggering and clearly illustrate the consummate performer of later years is ready to emerge when the time is right."

Next up is Springsteens first proper concert broadcast, simulcast from the infamous Main Point Ballroom in Philadelphia in Bryn Mawr just outside Philadelphia, in April of 1973. Discs two and three see things really hotting up as they contain the entire second Main Point gig that Bruce and the E Streeters played in February 1975, by which time the band had really found their feet, were as tight a rock unit as was playing anywhere in the Unites States and with the upcoming Born To Run album largely in the can and awaiting release in August, were justifiably in upbeat, confident mood. As they work through a number of Springsteen classics, a handful of which are as new to the audience and indeed to those listening in at home as the remainder are familiar."

This three disc set is a true collectors item containing as it does a representation of Bruce and the Band right at the dawn of their professional career, ready to storm the world and gagging to show exactly what they are made of.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Satin Doll
  2. Bishop Danced
  3. Circus Story
  4. Song for Orphans
  5. Does This Bus Stop At 82nd Street- Philadelphia. WMMR-FM. 24th April 1973.
  6. New York Song
  7. Circus Story
  8. Spirit in the Night
  9. Does This Bus Stop At 82nd Street-
  10. Santa Ana
  11. Tokyo
  12. Thundercrack
Disc 2:
  1. Intro
  2. Incident on 57th Street
  3. Mountain of Love
  4. Born To Run
  5. The E Street Shuffle
  6. Wings for Wheels
  7. I Want You
  8. Spirit in the Night
  9. Shes the One
  10. Growin Up
  11. Its Hard to Be a Saint in the City
  12. Jungleland
Disc 3:
  1. Kittys Back
  2. New York City Serenade
  3. Rosalita
  4. 4th of July, Asbury Park
  5. A Love So Fine / Shout
  6. For You
  7. Back on the USA
Release date NZ
May 9th, 2014
Parallel Lines
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...