Rock Albums:

The Sound of The Smiths - Deluxe Edition



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product


Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 4-9 March using standard courier delivery


The Smiths were THE definitive British independent band of the eighties, releasing a remarkable series of singles and albums between 1983 and 1987 that was both commercially and critically successful. The Smiths laid down a marker for guitar pop-rock that remains unsurpassed. They were the inspiration for the guitar driven rock that dominated the 90’s and for the spiritual revival of today's indie scene.

Disc one comprises 23 tracks and presents all the Smiths’ memorable single releases, reinstating singles that were scheduled though eventually unreleased in that form (“Still Ill” and “You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet Baby“) plus European only singles including “Barbarism Begins At Home” and “The Headmaster Ritual”. The core of disc one, however, is that matchless run of singles from their first Rough Trade 7 inch “Hand In Glove” to the posthumous “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me”. The collection includes genuine classic hits such as “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now”, “How Soon Is Now”, “Panic” and “Girlfriend in A Coma” which marked the pinnacle of that unique creative collaboration between vocalist Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr. Indeed, Morrissey’s eloquence and proselytising was always matched by the compelling musicianship of Marr, bassist Andy Rourke and drummer Mike Joyce.

The two disc format adds a further 22 tracks including rare b-sides, tracks that were exclusive to 12 inch releases and selected live recordings. Among the rarities are the Troy Tate produced “Pretty Girls Make Graves”, “What’s The World”, a cover of a track from the fellow Manchester band James, recorded live at Barrowlands, Glasgow, originally released only on a cassette single and the live "Meat Is Murder" from the vinyl 12 inch single version of "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore".

Both discs will be available digitally, many of the titles being made available for the very first time as downloads. The Smiths disbanded in 1987, just weeks before the release of their fourth album, “Strangeways Here We Come”. Few groups packed so much originality and notoriety into a relatively short life span.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Hand in Glove
  2. This Charming Man
  3. What Difference Does It Make- (Peel Session)
  4. Still Ill
  5. Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
  6. William, It Was Really Nothing
  7. How Soon Is Now- (12" version)
  8. Nowhere Fast
  9. Shakespeare's Sister
  10. Barbarism Begins At Home (7" version)
  11. That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
  12. The Headmaster Ritual
  13. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side
  14. Bigmouth Strikes Again
  15. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
  16. Panic
  17. Ask
  18. You Just Haven't Earned It Yet, Baby
  19. Shoplifters of the World Unite
  20. Sheila Take a Bow
  21. Girlfriend in a Coma
  22. I Started Something I Couldn't Finish
  23. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me
Disc 2:
  1. Jeane
  2. Handsome Devil (Live)
  3. This Charming Man (New York Vocal)
  4. Wonderful Woman
  5. Back To The Old House
  6. These Things Take Time
  7. Girl Afraid
  8. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want
  9. Stretch Out And Wait
  10. Oscillate Wildly
  11. Meat Is Murder (Live)
  12. Asleep
  13. Money Changes Everything
  14. The Queen Is Dead
  15. Vicar in a Tutu
  16. Cemetery Gates
  17. Half a Person
  18. Sweet And Tender Hooligan
  19. Pretty Girls Make Graves [Troy Tate Demo]
  20. Stop me If you Think You've Heard This One Before
  21. What's The World- (Live)
  22. London (Live)
Release date NZ
November 17th, 2008
Rhino Records
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...