Funk & Soul Albums:

Soul Sessions: Christmas Edition



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Whenua Patuwai – The Soul Sessions: Christmas Edition album on CD – Whenua Patuwai returns with a Christmas Edition of the successful release ‘The Soul Sessions’!

Includes all songs from The Soul Sessions plus 3 Christmas theme Bonus tracks including the incredible rendition of ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’, featuring the powerhouse Ria Hall.

The Soul Sessions is an album of brilliant studio recordings of Whenua’s favourite soul music from the past– including classics from Sam Cooke, Al Green, Otis Redding among others. Whenua Patuwai (born 1995), a shy fella from Christchurch, came to the attention of the nation, when he auditioned for the first local series of X Factor New Zealand in 2013 with a reindition of Sam Cooke's ‘Change Is Gonna Come’.

On choosing soul music for his debut album, Whenua says; “I grew up in a home filled with old school soul music. It was a genre of music that my parents loved listening to back in the day… soul music resonates with me so much because it represents the soul and all of the emotions we experience… heartbreak, pain, love and happiness.”

Whenua’s album was produced by Sam De Jong (Stan Walker, Ginny Blackmore, Benny Tipene) and recorded at Parachute Studios in Auckland. The music was performed by The Levites Band and guest vocal features include performances by Whenua’s friends and fellow artists; Ria Hall and Troy Kingi.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Midnight Train To Georgia
  2. Stand By Me
  3. Let’s Stay Together
  4. Ain’t No Sunshine – Featuring Troy Kingi
  5. Change Is Gonna Come
  6. My Girl
  7. Holding Onto You
  8. Cruisin’
  9. If You Don’t Know Me By Now
  10. So Amazing – Featuring Ria Hall
  11. Try A Little Tenderness
  12. All I Want For Christmas Is You - Featuring Ria Hall
  13. Silent Night
  14. Santa Clause is Coming to Town
Release date NZ
December 5th, 2014
Sony Music
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...